![]() |
|
|
|||
Interference and Obstruction during same play
This play (or something like it) came up in another thread and was never really answered or discussed so I bestow upon it, it’s very own thread!
PLAY: No outs. R1 at 2B, B2 hits safely thru the infield. Rounding 3B, R1 is obstructed by F5 and falls to the ground. She gets up and retreats to 3B. In your judgment she would have easily scored. Meanwhile the ball is thrown to F4 in an attempt to put out B2 who is trying to stretch the hit into a double. The throw is in time but dropped by F4. B2 in a desperate bid to avoid being tagged out kicks the ball away from F4. I am pretty sure at the point B2 kicks the ball we all have “Dead Ball”. Now what? ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
I'm going to have a very hard time awarding home in this scenario, just because an attempt at home was not made. If she retreats back to 3rd, well I just don't think she's gonna get home. Show me a reason to give you home. Walk, crawl.....swim to home....something that shows me you wanted to go there. Otherwise I'm gonna assume you're a knucklehead and don't know how to play the game.
Maybe just me..........
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
OK I can see where HTBT to know if you really would have awarded home on the OBS; but for the sake of this thread let’s assume that you WERE prepared to award the runner home on the OBS, but now we have this INT over at 2B which finally kills the play.
Can we enforce both OBS and INT on the same play? INT rule says return runner to last base legally touched at time of INT. NFHS 8-5-3 ASA 8-6-C both specify last base touched not awarded. |
|
|||
Quote:
I guess I envisioned the play as the runner getting her legs tangled up at the bag - not moving necessarily fast but because the throw goes to second base she would have scored easily. Throw to home might get her if unobstructed. This is the situation I was commenting on. If we have an absolute train wreck at third, then sure - give her home. Otherwise you've got to show a little effort - give me a reason to give you the call. Tough situation but I believe there are scenarios that could support two seperate conclusions on R1.
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Obstruction/Interference on same play | umpharp | Softball | 57 | Sun Jun 08, 2008 08:47pm |
Toss up? Obstruction and Interference on same play | BigGuy | Baseball | 21 | Thu Apr 19, 2007 09:24am |
Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? | JRSooner | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am |
Weird Obstruction/Interference Play | gmtomko | Baseball | 11 | Thu Apr 24, 2003 05:36am |
interference/obstruction? | acyrv | Baseball | 7 | Tue Jul 09, 2002 11:36am |