View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 20, 2011, 07:28am
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpireErnie View Post
This play (or something like it) came up in another thread and was never really answered or discussed so I bestow upon it, it’s very own thread!

PLAY: No outs. R1 at 2B, B2 hits safely thru the infield. Rounding 3B, R1 is obstructed by F5 and falls to the ground. She gets up and retreats to 3B. In your judgment she would have easily scored.

Meanwhile the ball is thrown to F4 in an attempt to put out B2 who is trying to stretch the hit into a double. The throw is in time but dropped by F4. B2 in a desperate bid to avoid being tagged out kicks the ball away from F4.

I am pretty sure at the point B2 kicks the ball we all have “Dead Ball”. Now what?
B2 is out, dead ball as said. R1 was already awarded home in your mind, awards are always during dead ball times, so no problem.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote