![]() |
ASA - clarification
On a bunt attempt, does the batter have to pull the bat back in order for a strike to not be called? That is, if the batter leaves the bat in the strike zone, he/she is not considered to have taken the pitch and it is considered a bunt attempt.
Does this rule differ in PONY? I don't have a rule book handy as I'm at work (and should be working....) but I'm curious. Thanks! |
Their rule is written very similarly to the ASA rule, but I can ask one of their higher-up UICs when I see him tomorrow (he calls in our association).
|
Thanks Dave, but I was more curious about the ASA ruling...I would like to know the PONY ruling too. I ask because I thought in one association, (and I work for 3), the batter does not have to pull the bat back. But in the other, if she doesn't, you call a strike on the bunt attempt. Though it's been a long winter and I may be very rusty.
|
The reason why I'm asking is because I am reading "myths" on a website and it struck me as something I wanted clarified.
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Hence why I asked...when I saw this on a website, especially the part where it said the rule changed in 2009, I thought, "oh no! I've been calling it where the batter is NOT required to bring the bat back....any movement forward is considered an attempt, but not when he/she holds the bat there."
And then I read this, and say....have I been wrong for 2 years now???!! |
ASA - no strike unless batter moves the bat toward the ball. Putting the bat out across the plate and simply leaving it there is not a strike. And, assuming of course, pitch is not in the strike zone.
NFHS - must pull the bat back or it will be considered an attempt. |
No, it is not accurate with ASA.
Personally, I consider the thought that not requiring the batter to attempt to hit the ball out of strike zone for it to be a strike ludicrous. |
Quote:
|
So, in PONY, if the bat is in the strike zone, it is a strike.:eek: Sounds good to me.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I'm with you Mike. I don't see why a strike would be called if the batter never offered at the pitch. In fact, it goes against the definition of a check swing and offering at a pitch.
And Dave and Mike and others, I thank you yet again for clearing up my confusion. This has been the way I have been calling it - ASA no strike, PONY strike... Someone will want to mention to the Dallas Metroplex Softball Association that there is a mistake on their website under the forty myths. They have incorrectly listed this as an ASA rule, when it is, in fact, an NFHS and PONY rule. DMSUA.COM Myth number 11. |
Quote:
From the Points of Emphasis section in the PONY 2010 Girls Softball Rules and Regulations book (Pg.V): #8 CHECK SWING/BUNT STRIKE "On a bunt attempt where the batter puts the bat across the plate, unless the batter moves the bat towards the ball, a strike would not be called if the ball is out of the strike zone." |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
He's called for so many different orgs, so I have to cut him some slack. |
Now I am going to have to ask..what about USSSA? My DD played 90% Usssa last year and her coaches told her to make sure you pulled the bat back if its a ball. This year she is on a different team that plays 90% ASA and she doesn't ahve to pull the bat back. Should I just keep telling her to pull it back so if we play PONY/USSSA she is used to it?
|
Not sure about USSSA, but in PONY she is not required to pull the bat back.
|
Quote:
This is what causes problems and confuses players. Okay, so that isn't so unusual, but you get my point. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Is she planning on playing softball in High School? In NFHS, they need to pull the bat back. If she is planning on playing in High School, it would be good to get in the habit. :D |
Quote:
Yup......modified my old rule myths document and screwed it up.........:rolleyes: Joel |
I'd have her pull it back just for the simple fact that for whatever reason, it REALLY pisses some umpires off and they will call the strike regardless of the rule set.
|
I think I can beat that. Last Saturday had a coach INSIST that because his player didn't move the bat and was in fact looking at the catcher when the ball came in, that it was not a bunt attempt.
Unfortunately, there were 2 strikes ... and the player in question actually hit the ball - foul. Strike Three! |
Quote:
________ Kids Paxil |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29am. |