The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 14, 2011, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcblue View Post
18A National Qualifier. Winning team moves on to National, Losing continues on to battle for last 2 spots. Bottom of 7th, Home (offense) down by 1. Runners on 1st and 2nd, no outs.

High fly ball about 15 feet past 2nd. F8 had to move fast to make the catch. I am BU I button hooking in, both runners are holding half way. F8 has to dive, but I see a catch, but I don't hear my partner say out. Runners take off to the next base. Ball back to pitcher play over and I turn to look at my partner. He has his arm up signaling out. D coach yells to throw the ball to second, tag the runner and step on the base. 3 outs. We get together both have a the ball caught (wish he would have yelled out).

Walking off the field I hear, "you sucked when she was 10, and you are worst now that she is 18". Pretty sure it was directed at my partner because the loosing team was from his area.
Sucks that his/her base coaches didn't hold the runners to tag up.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 17, 2011, 05:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Gulf Coast of TX to Destin Fl
Posts: 988
Extremely lucky that I have only had a few fields using the temporary fence. And these were only in tournaments that had 80+ teams. Maybe 2 - 3 games tops.

Will keep this in mind for the future.......

Joel
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gulf Coast Blue View Post
Extremely lucky that I have only had a few fields using the temporary fence. And these were only in tournaments that had 80+ teams. Maybe 2 - 3 games tops.

Will keep this in mind for the future.......

Joel
The temporary fences can lead to all sorts of issues. If you are in a 3 umpire game, you should have an umpire out there on fly balls near the fence, so it's not so bad. In a 2 umpire game, it becomes more of a challenge, especially for the BU to judge whether they should chase a long fly ball or not.

I had a game a few weeks ago, ASA rules, 3 umpire, I am 1U, runners on second and third, no outs. Long fly to center, I chase. F8 catches the ball as she is running into the fence. She falls to ground collapsing the temporary fence, I am making sure that she maintains control of the ball. She starts to get up by placing her throwing hand on the ground past the fence! I kill the play, rule a catch and carry and award each runner one base. I seriously doubt that it (catch and carry) would have been seen by a PU in a 2 umpire game.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Just thinking, you may have done the DEFENSE the favor in this case. Rare in fastpitch (more common in slowpitch), but there may have been two runs if the ball stayed live with the F8 on the ground after the catch.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Just thinking, you may have done the DEFENSE the favor in this case. Rare in fastpitch (more common in slowpitch), but there may have been two runs if the ball stayed live with the F8 on the ground after the catch.
Exactly why the offensive coach didn't like the call.....but it was the correct call and I made it when I saw it.

I was also told after the game that neither runner tagged up as they thought the ball was not going to be caught.....but the defense did not appeal either one.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 18, 2011, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Sucks that his/her base coaches didn't hold the runners to tag up.
Runners took off? Defense didn't start a play until after the ball went to the pitcher and then they noticed the out call? Fans were livid?

Sounds to me like the only person that thought it was a catch was the PU.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blown call and what would you do ronald Softball 13 Tue May 25, 2010 07:58pm
DPI blown call ? jstafan Football 15 Tue Nov 03, 2009 09:55am
Blown Call bjudge Football 70 Mon Oct 04, 2004 09:10am
U2 Blown Call Cubbies87 Baseball 17 Tue May 04, 2004 11:56am
was it a blown call? Ruben Trinidad Basketball 11 Sat Feb 17, 2001 09:16pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1