The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 11, 2002, 05:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
ASA. Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, one out. Daniels hits a ground ball to F6 and stumbles getting out of the box. F6 throws to F4 at 2B to force Charles. Abel then crosses the plate. F4 tries to throw to 1B to get Daniels, but Charles interferes with F4.

Unlike in baseball, in ASA the runner closest to home at the time of interference (by a runner already put out) is out. Abel had scored, so that means that Baker is out. (In baseball, Daniels would be out.)

Ordinarily, calling the runner closest to home out benefits the defense, but in this case it does not, since with Baker the third out, Abel's run would score. With Daniels the third out at 1B, Abel's run would not count.

Is there any justification for calling Daniels out instead of Baker? What if Daniels was an easy out and Charles's interference was obviously deliberate?
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1