The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 22, 2010, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd41flpk View Post
Just wrapped up another fun-filled season of ASA Snow Flake softball and had some quite the interesting occurrences. Can some of you folks please comment on these rulings or lack thereof?

ASA - 6-10' arc: (1) Pitcher 1st presents ball and then 'slowly' and I do mean slowly brings his arm back and follows thru (without any hesitation) and makes the pitch. RULING: Legal since the motion was continuous even thought it was slow. Players also thought that each pitch must contain the 'same' consistent cadence/motion for a consistency pace. I did not see the 'consistent' mention in the ASA rules, so thought this was also legal. (2) Same pitcher at one point during a pitch, dropped his glove during the delivery. I assumed that this was a legal pitch if this was construed as 'un-intentional'. However, once a 2nd occurrence occurred, it could be construed as 'intentional' and ruled as an illegal pitch?

OBS: R1 on 3rd when B/R hits a ground ball to 2nd. F4 throws to F5 who now has R1 off of 3rd in a run-down. As the ball is thrown to each of the fielders to catch R1, F6 is in the base-path of R1 (yet no contact) which makes R1 veer to the right and R1 is then tagged out by F6 on the way back to 3rd base. RULING: Call OBS on F6 and award R1 3rd base since this was where R1 was headed?

Comments and rule references are welcome.
I'm with you on all rulings except the one regarding the pitcher dropping his/her glove. I don't know if I would consider the simple act of dropping one's glove to be an intentional act that is meant to distract the batter. Unsafe? Certainly. Distracting? Maybe. I'm on the fence here. Depends on how they did it, and I'd probably have to see it. I don't think I'd call it unless it was quite clearly meant to distract the batter, as the penalty for that rule is quite severe: ejection!

In other words, I'd want to be damn certain that that was his intent.

Otherwise, these rulings were all correct.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happenings from Girls 8th A game SamIAm Basketball 5 Mon Dec 08, 2008 01:11pm
softball Dougie Feedback 1 Thu Apr 11, 2002 04:08pm
tourney happenings devdog69 Basketball 11 Thu Mar 21, 2002 12:19pm
New to softball Mad4maddux Softball 4 Thu Mar 21, 2002 08:41am
A Fragrant Foul and other strange happenings. RecRef Basketball 3 Tue Mar 12, 2002 12:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1