The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Senior Ball - Second Plate (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/59000-asa-senior-ball-second-plate.html)

Skahtboi Wed Sep 08, 2010 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691440)
Had a dinner guest bring a 6 of Samuel Smith's Oatmeal Stout.

Pretty good

A fine beer. A good example of the style. Were you fortunate enough to have a Young's Oatmeal Stout while they were still brewing it? It was, for my dollar, the best example of the style ever!

IRISHMAFIA Wed Sep 08, 2010 07:05pm

From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.

Dakota Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691560)
From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.

So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?

NCASAUmp Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 691626)
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?

I had troubles with that as well. I mean, as a parallel, if you had two runners side-by-side, you could conceivably tag both of them with your glove at the same time and have both of them out. You shouldn't need to do two separate steps to get the outs at HP.

To me, the rule is clear: if both runners have passed the commitment line, they're both called out when the defensive player has the ball and touches home plate. There should be no other required action by the defense.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 691626)
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?

Are you going to call it that way? :rolleyes:

I'm not. I agree that the play should apply to all runners. Don't like the use of the second plate, but if that is what these folks want, they need to live with the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1