The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA Senior Ball - Second Plate (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/59000-asa-senior-ball-second-plate.html)

IRISHMAFIA Thu Sep 02, 2010 07:24am

ASA Senior Ball - Second Plate
 
Runners on 2B & 3B, no outs.

Line drive to the outfield drops for a hit. R2 is was moving on contact while R1 hesitated to to make sure ball wasn't caught. F8 is up quickly with the ball and throwing home.

R2 catches R1 just as they both cross the commitment line, but the throw beats both as the catcher receives the ball while touching the original plate prior to either runner touching the second plate.

Is your call:

1) Both are out
2) R1 ruled out, R2 scores
3) No outs since neither runner was tagged
4) Huh? What do you mean there are two home plates?

JefferMC Thu Sep 02, 2010 08:26am

Sure looks like (1), both are out.

But Irish wouldn't have posted it if it were that simple. What did I miss?

CecilOne Thu Sep 02, 2010 09:01am

The key is that both passed the commitment line.

Dakota Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:40am

Personally, my answer is 4.:confused: :)

SergioJ Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:57am

Okay, I'll take a long-shot at this.

Since both runners passed the commitment line, and since the second home plate replaces the "tagging" of the runner, I vote for #1, double play. My thinking (huh?) is that this would be the equivalent to two runners coming in to home plate and the catcher tags both runners prior to either of them touching home plate.

Now Mike, I'm hoping that since you only gave us 4 choices, the answer is one of them and not a 5th choice that you left out. :) Or is the 5th choice R2 not only "caught up" with R1, but also passed him? :)


Serg

celebur Thu Sep 02, 2010 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SergioJ (Post 691002)
Or is the 5th choice R2 not only "caught up" with R1, but also passed him? :)

There would still be two outs though--R2 out for passing, R1 out on the commitment play.

Around my neck of the woods, I only see two home plates in a variant of slo-pitch where the catcher must play the original plate and the runner(s) must go for the second plate. In effect, the second plate acts as the scoring line (safe line) in coed slo-pitch.

BretMan Thu Sep 02, 2010 11:05pm

I can't really see any other alternative under the rules than calling both runners out on this play.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Sep 03, 2010 07:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 691034)
I can't really see any other alternative under the rules than calling both runners out on this play.

I agree. As the rule is written, both should be out.

It just seems strange that on a play designed to be handled as a "force out" you can get more than one player out on a single act of touching one base.

However, by rule, the defense has no alternative since they cannot tag the runner. What would be expected, that the catcher touch the plate for one out, step off and then touch the plate a second time for the second runner?

This is a perfect example of what happens when you tinker with the rules of the game.

CecilOne Fri Sep 03, 2010 08:52am

It is not a force out if there were runners only on 2nd and 3rd as in the OP.

SergioJ Fri Sep 03, 2010 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 691049)
It is not a force out if there were runners only on 2nd and 3rd as in the OP.


Cecil, The "force out" is the fact that once both runners passed the committment line, then, by rule, they are "forced" to continue to the second home plate. If they go back to 3rd base, then, again, by rule, are out.

Serg

youngump Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SergioJ (Post 691054)
Cecil, The "force out" is the fact that once both runners passed the committment line, then, by rule, they are "forced" to continue to the second home plate. If they go back to 3rd base, then, again, by rule, are out.

Serg

But it is a timing play, no?
________
buttsex Cams

MD Longhorn Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 691057)
But it is a timing play, no?

What's your point?

Mike - I don't see this as being odd at all. Without the tinkered rule, both runners would be heading for home and F2 would be able to tag both.

CecilOne Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SergioJ (Post 691054)
Cecil, The "force out" is the fact that once both runners passed the committment line, then, by rule, they are "forced" to continue to the second home plate. If they go back to 3rd base, then, again, by rule, are out.

Serg

OK that's true. As I said earlier, passing the line is the key.

Dakota Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 691062)
What's your point?

Mike - I don't see this as being odd at all. Without the tinkered rule, both runners would be heading for home and F2 would be able to tag both.

Or, they could stop and get in a run-down and one or more could be safe, score, etc.

youngump Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 691062)
What's your point?

Mike - I don't see this as being odd at all. Without the tinkered rule, both runners would be heading for home and F2 would be able to tag both.

Was just being pedantic, it's not a force out.
________
Vaporizer volcano

Skahtboi Fri Sep 03, 2010 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 690997)
Personally, my answer is 4.:confused: :)

That was the one I was going with! :eek:

IRISHMAFIA Fri Sep 03, 2010 05:26pm

STOP!!!

I did not say it was a force out, but "handled" as a force out.

Does anyone actually READ what is typed?

NCASAUmp Fri Sep 03, 2010 07:34pm

Mike, are you asking this question because I'm in Burlington this weekend? :D

Answer is 1.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Sep 03, 2010 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 691102)
Mike, are you asking this question because I'm in Burlington this weekend? :D

Answer is 1.

No, it wasn't because you are in Burlington.

It is because an umpire ruled #2 on such a play.

When I get these questions (that are not part of any protest), I try to put myself in the umpire's position and work back from the call to see what s/he may have been thinking to come to the conclusion s/he did.

CecilOne Sat Sep 04, 2010 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691094)
STOP!!!

I did not say it was a force out, but "handled" as a force out.

Does anyone actually READ what is typed?

My fault, reading fragments instead of all. Reminded by Serg.

"Quote:
Originally Posted by SergioJ
Cecil, The "force out" is the fact that once both runners passed the committment line, then, by rule, they are "forced" to continue to the second home plate. If they go back to 3rd base, then, again, by rule, are out.

Serg

OK that's true. As I said earlier, passing the line is the key. "

IRISHMAFIA Sat Sep 04, 2010 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 691126)
My fault, reading fragments instead of all. Reminded by Serg.

Just didn't want it to get out of control. Too often threads take a turn away from the point and I just wanted to avoid that.

Thanks

CecilOne Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691128)
Too often threads take a turn away from the point and I just wanted to avoid that.

Thanks

Really! On this forum?? :p ;) :D

NCASAUmp Sat Sep 04, 2010 10:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 691130)
Really! On this forum?? :p ;) :D

When I get home, I plan on having some beer a coworker of mine home-brewed...

Skahtboi Tue Sep 07, 2010 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 691161)
When I get home, I plan on having some beer a coworker of mine home-brewed...


Really? What style?????

NCASAUmp Tue Sep 07, 2010 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 691366)
Really? What style?????

To be honest, I forget. I think it's a bock-style brew...

CecilOne Tue Sep 07, 2010 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 691368)
To be honest, I forget. I think it's a bock-style brew...

It's called ForumFantasy. :p :)

Skahtboi Tue Sep 07, 2010 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 691368)
To be honest, I forget. I think it's a bock-style brew...

I need to get back into brewing. I have found that it is really hard to find a really good oatmeal stout these days.

celebur Tue Sep 07, 2010 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691104)
No, it wasn't because you are in Burlington.

It is because an umpire ruled #2 on such a play.

When I get these questions (that are not part of any protest), I try to put myself in the umpire's position and work back from the call to see what s/he may have been thinking to come to the conclusion s/he did.

So, back to the OP, what became of that situation?

Whether it's two home plates or just one plate and a scoring/safe line, I can think of no rules code where the fielder would have to step on home plate twice to get two outs on this.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Sep 07, 2010 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skahtboi (Post 691407)
I need to get back into brewing. I have found that it is really hard to find a really good oatmeal stout these days.

Had a dinner guest bring a 6 of Samuel Smith's Oatmeal Stout.

Pretty good

Welpe Tue Sep 07, 2010 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 691161)
When I get home, I plan on having some beer a coworker of mine home-brewed...

Yeah it's been months since we had a good beer thread...

Skahtboi Wed Sep 08, 2010 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691440)
Had a dinner guest bring a 6 of Samuel Smith's Oatmeal Stout.

Pretty good

A fine beer. A good example of the style. Were you fortunate enough to have a Young's Oatmeal Stout while they were still brewing it? It was, for my dollar, the best example of the style ever!

IRISHMAFIA Wed Sep 08, 2010 07:05pm

From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.

Dakota Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 691560)
From NUS staff:

The ruling should be that both the runners are out.

The catcher should thoretically touch his home plate twice to retire those runners, however, if he kept his foot in contact with the plate for a reasonable amount of time, both runners should be declared out.

The 2nd home plate was designed to protect the runners and the catcher from any collision situations. Rule 8, Section 9D covers the use of the 2nd Home plate. Letter #6 states that once he passes the committment line he cannot return. If he goes back he is out, and if the catcher's tag of his home plate beats the runner reaching the 2nd home plate, that runner is also out. The description in your play fits in with the above.

So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?

NCASAUmp Thu Sep 09, 2010 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 691626)
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?

I had troubles with that as well. I mean, as a parallel, if you had two runners side-by-side, you could conceivably tag both of them with your glove at the same time and have both of them out. You shouldn't need to do two separate steps to get the outs at HP.

To me, the rule is clear: if both runners have passed the commitment line, they're both called out when the defensive player has the ball and touches home plate. There should be no other required action by the defense.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 691626)
So, if he just did a quick stab of home plate or runs across it only the first runner is out?

Are you going to call it that way? :rolleyes:

I'm not. I agree that the play should apply to all runners. Don't like the use of the second plate, but if that is what these folks want, they need to live with the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1