![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
![]() And it would be a proper appeal, if the coach were authorized to make it. An infielder may make a dead ball appeal prior to the pitcher and all infielders have left fair territory. The coach has every right to question the run, but the appeal on a missed base is not his to make.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
R2 was the third out on the tag, not on an appeal. In ASA, you can't get an advantageous fourth out on a runner who did not score. Assuming R1 touched the plate before the third out, his run counts. Since they didn't score, R2 and R3 are immune from appeals, as is the batter. In fact, after the defense tagged R2 for the third out, even if they noticed that the batter had not run but was still standing around the plate, they could not get the advantageous out at 1B.
(Unless ASA changed its rule recently.)
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Tue Jul 27, 2010 at 11:27am. |
|
|||
Grey - I don't believe this is true regarding the batter. There is a 4th out to be made there. The rest, though, I agree with. R2 is out - and any way I reread this rule, I can't legitimately find a way to re-rule R2 out on appeal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Not sure where there is a 4th out appeal to be made on the batter. Can you provide an example? I'm with grey on this one.
|
|
|||
The ASA casebook play is basically this: R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, two outs. B3 strikes out but the ball gets away from F2. B3 does not run but instead watches R1 score and R2 get put out at the plate for the third out. Then the defense throws to 1B to get B3.
The ruling is that B3 didn't score and so the defense cannot get an advantageous fourth out. R1's run counts. Before the rule change, ASA gave the exact same case play and ruled B3 out on the fourth-out appeal, and R1's run was nullified. The change is several years old. ASA is the only code I know of that handles fourth outs this way. PS. My own feeling, whether or not fourth-out appeals on nonscoring runners are permitted, is that the fourth out on the batter at 1B is not an appeal. It's simply playing on the batter before he gets to 1B. However, that's not the way they interpret it.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! Last edited by greymule; Tue Jul 27, 2010 at 02:04pm. |
|
|||
The ASA rule on fourth out appeals is that they may be made ONLY against a runner who has scored. As far as I know, they are unique in that interpretation.
In ASA coaches do not have the right to make appeals for baserunning mistakes. So, no matter how this coach phrased it to you, it wouldn't be valid appeal. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Crazy play | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 16 | Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:57am |
Crazy Play | pingswinger | Baseball | 2 | Mon Apr 30, 2007 07:07pm |
Crazy play | Alligator Bag | Baseball | 22 | Fri Sep 12, 2003 12:24am |
crazy play | bpf | Basketball | 20 | Thu Feb 28, 2002 12:34am |
Crazy play | Alligator Bag | Baseball | 3 | Fri Apr 14, 2000 10:45am |