View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 26, 2010, 10:00pm
umpharp umpharp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 83
crazy play...did I get it right?

ASA SP....one man (but the play could happen in any division)

Bases loaded with 2 outs. R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B and R3 on 1B

ground ball to deep short. SS kicks the ball around for a while then throws to 3rd. 3B goes for a swipe tag on R2 but misses. R2 also misses 3B. Stupid 3rd baseman then throws to 2b to try to get R3 who is about 3 or 4 inches off of second base. R2 starts home, gets half way, decides to go back. R2 gets tagged out. The question is....does R1 score?

After delaying for a minute as the defense went into the dugout, I announced that the run counted. The coach came out and asked why since it was a force. I explained that it was not a force, once he had reached third base, it was no longer a force and it was now a timing play. The coach then said, "he never touched third." I didn't say anything and waited a second for the coach to say those magic words, but he never did. He told me I was wrong and we went on our merry little way for the rest of the game.

Did I get the call right?
If the coach had appealed, should I have honored the appeal? The team had already went into the dugout, but it was right after I made my ruling that the run counted that the coach came out to discuss the play.

I think I would have honored the 4th out appeal, but I don't know if that is by the book.
Reply With Quote