The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 24, 2010, 09:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by justcallmeblue View Post
I was at a friends party today and ran into a coach that I have umpired this season (talk about small worlds). We got to talking about his game the other night and he tells me this story (I am not the BU at this game)

12U - ASA Ruleset

They have a play called CHAOS. . .R1 on 1B. . .on a dropped 3rd strike to Batter, he has the batter break towards first. But the runner never intends to go to first, only to draw a throw. Most of the catchers at this level FORGET they dont have to throw down to first in this situation because there is no DTS. More times than not, the throw is made down to first and R1 basically "walks" to 2B. and usually no call made by umpire

Thats the basics of the story.

I told him that I would call INTERFERENCE. . .that if I believed that the BR BREAKING TO 1st is in an obvious (planned) attempt to distract the catcher and hinders her from making the play, it would be INTERFERENCE. Now, the "play," in my mind, would be a normal throw to second base or throwback to the pitcher.

SO I left the party and then thought to myself. . .Is R1 also out?? Interference preventing a proper play?

Your thoughts are appreciated as always
ASA specifically states that this is NOT interference.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 24, 2010, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 58
Irish,
WHERE?? I have been looking thru the book, cant seem to find it. . .
Z
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 24, 2010, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by justcallmeblue View Post
irish,
where?? I have been looking thru the book, cant seem to find it. . .
Z
8-7-p note.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Officiating Book - "Ready For Play" tskaggs6s19 Football 0 Thu Jan 29, 2009 02:15pm
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
"serious" foul by offended team during their advantage play Robert Goodman Rugby 4 Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1