The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 15, 2010, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snocatzdad View Post
...This seems off to me. IMO it should be a 2 base award from the last base safely reached at the time of the release. Since the runner has to go back and tag up, then the last base safely reached was 1B and award should be 3B. ...
The rule merely states that "The award shall be governed by the position of the runners when the ball left the fielder’s hand." It says nothing about base reached, safely or otherwise. Besides, unless or until the appeal is properly made, the runner is considered to have safely reached 2B.

PS: Anyone know why this play has the heading "Rule 8 Section 5F" when the pertinent rule is Rule 8 Section 5G?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA March Rules Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 3 Sat Mar 20, 2010 09:53am
February ASA Rules Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 18 Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:34pm
The Fourth Of July Came On July Third This Year ... BillyMac Basketball 1 Fri Jul 03, 2009 02:19pm
April ASA Rules and Clarifications SRW Softball 10 Tue Apr 07, 2009 07:50pm
New Ump - Rules Clarifications kyleflan Softball 5 Tue Jun 26, 2007 03:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1