The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
New pitcher - do you tell her the sitch?

OK - I've never been one to go talk to the pitcher after a change and remind them that there's a runner on 2nd, 1 out, 2-0 count. I thought it was bush league. Truly, it seems juvenile to me to tell the pitcher where the runners are standing - can she not see this?

2 weeks ago, I didn't do this. Partner seemed peeved that he, as PU, HAD to do it because I didn't.

Last week, I started to do this and was waived off and told by partner later that was a huge faux pas, and not to do it. 2 games later, after a change, PU is obviously waiting for me to do it, even pointing at me, then the pitcher.

So ... does ASA have a standard here? And if not - how do you guys feel about it - is it expected? Is it bush? Do you not care?

The ONLY thing I do differently for a new pitcher is as PU, and even then, only on a new pitcher entering in the middle of an at bat --- after the warmups, I'm beside the catcher, get PU's attention, and tell her specifically what the count is, perhaps a little louder than I would have normally.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
I did it 20 years ago when I was 17 and just starting out as a little league umpire and the smitty that showed me the ropes told me I should.

I stopped doing it approximately 19 1/2 years ago.
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Used to do it because I saw others doing it, but I don't anymore. If someone can point out a written mechanic in any ruleset that this is required, I'll start doing it again.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
The pitcher's team already has a coach.

If there's no scoreboard or if the scoreboard is wrong (often the case here), I might give the number of outs, but that's a big "maybe."

If there's an existing count, I'll repeat it, but that's not for the benefit of the pitcher. On any pitching change, there's been a significant pause in the game, so I'll give the count for that reason alone.

Anything other than that is tantamount to coaching. Why not also tell her where her fielders are playing? It's the same kind of info, right?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
No, not to the pitcher. However, like after every other break in action, I will provide the outs and count (if there is any) from my position behind the plate.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Agree with last two.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Midwest
Posts: 386
I will...

On the Plate I never verbally indicate the # of outs. And I certainly don't do the rotate side to side, make sure everyone along the first base line or third base line can see me indicate the outs. Talk about bush league. As a base umpire I do not turn and tell the outfileders how many outs there are on a normal basis. If the fielders ask I tell them, this includes the catcher. If I think it has been a confusing inning, a long inning or maybe a rookie partner I will somtimes indicate how many outs while "signing" my partner that we have an infield fly situation possible (and that has gotten me in trouble with a UIC before). As far as count, I only indicate the outs in a physical manner towards the pitcher or fielders from behind the plate. Verbally I state the count loud enough for the batter and catcher to hear me. As far as the changing of pitchers. I think the situation dictates my actions. New pitcher from bench I might more often say something if the oppurtunity presents itself. Special trip to mound. No. For a pitcher coming from another defensive position. Even less consideration for making an attemopt to update the situation. New pitcher within a current count. Yes I will make a more direct effort to repeat the count and make sure she is looking at the plate when I do.

The only 2 thiongs I have ever been taught about giving the count is (1) always give the count when there has been a change of position by runners on base. (2) Only give the count once the pitcher has turned and is facing the batter/catcher/plate.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Denton County, TX
Posts: 58
No I don't go to the pitcher and give a game sit summary. I have had many partners who do and one or two who have given me grief for not doing it. But that is not a prescribed mechanic and I expect the players and coaches to have their heads in the games. Besides, a very good reason for not doing it is that many coaches will change the pitcher near the end of a timed game to stall. Going to the pitcher to give a game summary helps the coach stall and I don't think either umpire should be assisting either coach. Give pitch count and outs and play ball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Hit Ball Hit Batter in the Box

Yep this is old school. Worked with a partner this year that came back from 5 years off, and he taught me this way, but I stopped doing it after working higher level ball.

Here is one for you all. What do you do when a batter is hit by a batted ball in the box. Personally I state "foul ball" and if it was not obvious I will point to the batter in the box and say "Hit her in the box". 99.9% of the coaches and players know what I mean.

However, last year I was told by a rookie blue from a different district that I was doing it wrong. That I must call "Dead Ball"-Point and say, "Hit her in the box"-Then follow up with "Foul Ball". To me this seems redundant.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 23, 2010, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
I don't. For all the reasons already posted. The exception would be unless specifically directed to by the tournament UIC or director, or the rule code we're playing under.
If she came in with a count on the batter, I give it from behind the plate, just prior to indicating and verbalizing "Play" to make the ball live.
I do not give outs unless asked.
Like most of you who have replied, I have partners who do it when they have the plate. Drives me nuts. and the only thing I need my BU to be responsible for during a pitching change is counting the 5 warmup pitches if I'm occupied with a coach on substitution/lineup changes.
Besides, most of these teams, (esp. the TB teams), seem to have all these coaches who make it a career of watching every move the opposing team and the umpires make, surely one of them is more than capable of handling this particular detail.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 27, 2010, 05:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: North Texas
Posts: 429
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
OK - I've never been one to go talk to the pitcher after a change and remind them that there's a runner on 2nd, 1 out, 2-0 count. I thought it was bush league. Truly, it seems juvenile to me to tell the pitcher where the runners are standing - can she not see this?

2 weeks ago, I didn't do this. Partner seemed peeved that he, as PU, HAD to do it because I didn't.

Last week, I started to do this and was waived off and told by partner later that was a huge faux pas, and not to do it. 2 games later, after a change, PU is obviously waiting for me to do it, even pointing at me, then the pitcher.

So ... does ASA have a standard here? And if not - how do you guys feel about it - is it expected? Is it bush? Do you not care?

The ONLY thing I do differently for a new pitcher is as PU, and even then, only on a new pitcher entering in the middle of an at bat --- after the warmups, I'm beside the catcher, get PU's attention, and tell her specifically what the count is, perhaps a little louder than I would have normally.
NO, you don't coach the players
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 03, 2010, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 150
I don't remember who told me to tell the pitcher the game situation on a pitching change, but I have done it historically. I suppose now would be a good time to quite telling them. I have worked with a good bit of umpires and most of them ask the base umpire to tell the pitcher the game situation at the end of her warm up pitches.

On the Dead Ball/Foul Ball situation, I call Dead Ball when there is contact between the batter and the ball. In the event that she is not in the box, the Dead Ball is followed up with a verbal indication of Batter’s out.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 04, 2010, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,376
I used to review the situation w/ new pitchers but don't anymore. I figure that's the coaches' job.

If there was a pitching change that occurred in the middle of an at-bat, I'll give the count [as I would after any significant delay in the game] before I signal to play ball.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
B/C sitch...what should I have done? KJUmp Basketball 10 Mon Feb 08, 2010 12:01pm
Help with a sitch.... SeanFitzRef Basketball 4 Sat Oct 20, 2007 03:10pm
Sitch 1 lrpalmer3 Basketball 2 Fri Feb 11, 2005 10:29am
Out of box - sitch mick Basketball 5 Wed Sep 04, 2002 02:04pm
Not much sitch mick Basketball 16 Wed Sep 04, 2002 12:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1