The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
Events happened in this sequence. NCAA Men.

A1 releases try.
A1 fouls stationary B1.
Try is successful.
Officials counts basket.
Reports foul on A1.
B2 inbounds at a spot (not allowed to run baseline).

Was this correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 10, 2005, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Jerry City, Ohio
Posts: 394
Not correct.

This exact play is covered on page BR116 on NCAA Basketball Rule Book. Rule 7.5.8 See specifically AR 12.

NCAA Men: No airborne shooter rule to determine if Player Control foul was committed so count basket and if B is not in bonus then they shall be entitled to a throw-in anywhere along the endline.

NCAA women: Same as NFHS. Player control foul. No free throws. Ball OB at designated spot.

BTW; The official may have told B2 he could run the baseline but B2 may have chosen not to, therefore it may have looked like a designated spot throw-in
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 11, 2005, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 377
No, the player asked and was told he had to stay on a spot. Didn't affect the game though, no defensive pressure. Hats off to the officials though, they called a great game between the top teams in the conference.

[Edited by lrpalmer3 on Feb 11th, 2005 at 10:32 AM]
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37am.

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1