The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Appeals
#36 It is a force out when a runner is called out for not tagging up on a fly ball. FALSE. Failing to retouch is not a force. If a runner is called out for the third out on appeal for not retouching (tagging up), any preceding runs score unless the appeal is made before the runners cross the plate.
#37 An appeal on a runner who misses a base cannot be a force out. FALSE. A runner who missed a base they were forced to and is properly appealed for the third out can nullify any runs the would have scored.
#38 No run can score when a runner is called out for the third out for not tagging up. FALSE. If a runner is called out for the third out on appeal for not retouching (tagging up), any preceding runs score unless the appeal is made before they cross the plate.
#39 You must tag the base with your foot on a force out or appeal. FALSE. Any portion of the fielder’s body or glove may be used to touch the base. Even if the fielder has the ball in his/her hand and touches the base with his/her empty glove, an out would still be recorded. In high schools rules, the defense may also make an appeal on a runner during a dead ball. Any defensive player or coach can to this by requesting time and asking the umpire to appeal the infraction. In any case, an appeal must be made before the next pitch or play.
#40 The ball must always be returned to the pitcher before an appeal can be made. FALSE. Appeals may either be made at anytime during a live ball by touching a base that a runner failed to tag up on a fly ball or for missing a base. In high school rules, the dead ball appeal procedure described above could also apply.

Pitching
#41 The ball is always dead on a balk. FALSE in professional baseball and softball, but TRUE in high school baseball. In high school baseball, the ball is immediately dead, and all runners will advance one base. If the ball is pitched and the batter hits it, play does not continue. In professional baseball, a balk is a delayed dead ball, and the batter may hit the pitch. If he/she does and all runners and the batter advance successfully to the next base, then the balk is ignored. If they do not, then play is stopped, the runners advance one base from their position at the time of the pitch and the batter is returned to the plate to continue his at-bat with the previous ball and strikes count. In softball, the term “balk” is replaced with the term “illegal pitch”. In softball, an illegal pitch is still a delayed dead ball and the batter may attempt to hit the pitch. In softball, after play ends, the batting team may elect to either take the illegal pitch penalty and have the batter return to the plate to continue his/her at-bat, or they may take the result of the play.
#42 With no runners on base, it is a ball if the pitcher starts his windup and then stops. FALSE in professional baseball, but TRUE in high school baseball and softball. In professional baseball, this is just a no-pitch.
#43 The pitcher must come to a set position before a pick-off throw. FALSE. The pitcher must come set only before pitching to the batter. This is a baseball rule only as pickoffs are not used in softball.
#44 The pitcher must step off the rubber before a pick-off throw. FALSE. The pitcher may remain in contact with the rubber during a pick-off. This is a baseball rule only as pickoffs are not used in softball.
#45 The pitcher’s foot must remain in contact with the rubber until the release of the ball. FALSE. Coaches teaching the proper technique encourage pushing off the rubber during the pitch. In softball, the pivot foot (the one doing the pushing) must drag and remain in contact with the ground.
#46 In softball, the pitcher must release the ball after the first time it passes the hip toward the plate. FALSE. By rule, the pitcher is not allowed to make more than one and one-half revolutions on a pitch, but starting behind the hip, wind milling, and releasing the ball is not one and one-half revolutions.

Internet Sources
Official Rules | MLB.com: Official info
http://www.usssa.com/usssa/usssa-gen...010FPRules.pdf
Top 40 Baseball Rule Myths | eteamz
http://www.eteamz.active.com/softbal...all_myth’s.doc


Printed Sources
2010 National Federation of High Schools Baseball Rules Book
2010 National Federation of High Schools Softball Rules Book
2010 National Federation of High Schools Baseball Case Book
2010 National Federation of High Schools Softball Case Book
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Offical Baseball Rules
#1 2.00 PERSON, TOUCH, STRIKE, 6.05f
#2 2.00 STRIKE
#3 2.00 INTERFERENCE, 6.06c
#4 6.06b
#5 6.07b(1)
#6 6.09b
#7 2.00 CATCH, 6.09b
#8 6.09b comment
#9 2.00 BUNT, STRIKE
#10 6.05h, 7.09b
#11 6.06a
#12 No rule exists
#13 6.08b (not an exception)
#14 2.00 FOUL TIP, STRIKE
#15 7.08c, 7.08j
#16 7.08c, 7.08j
#17 2.00 INTERFERENCE, 6.05k, 7.09k
#18 5.02, 7.05a
#19 No rule exists
#20 7.05g
#21 7.09h
#22 7.08i, 7.10b
#23 No rule exists
#24 6.09f, 7.08f
#25 7.08a, 7.09j
#26 2.00 INTERFERENCE(a), 7.08b
#27 2.00 INFIELD FLY, 6.05e, 7.10, not listed in Rule 5.00
#28 7.03
#29 1.05, 2.00 FAIR BALL, FOUL BALL
#30 2.00 FAIR BALL, FOUL BALL
#31 2.00 FOUL TIP, STRIKE
#32 2.00 CATCH
#33 2.00 CATCH, 5.10f, 6.05a, 7.04c
#34 2.00 INTERFERENCE, 5.09b, 5.09f
#35 9.02b, 9.02c
#36 2.00 FORCE PLAY, 4.09
#37 2.00 FORCE PLAY, TAG, 7.08e, 7.10b
#38 2.00 FORCE PLAY, 4.09,7.10a
#39 2.00 FORCE PLAY, TAG, 7.08e
#40 2.00 APPEAL, 5.11, 7.10
#41 8.05 Penalty
#42 2.00 PITCH
#43 8.05m
#44 8.05
#45 8.01
#46 No rule exists

National Federation of High Schools Baseball
#1 8.1.1d (not an exception), Casebook 8.1.1D
#2 7.2.1, 10.1.4a
#3 2.21.1a, 7.3.5
#4 7.3.3
#5 7.1.1 Penalties
#6 7.4.1b(1), 8.4.1e
#7 2.9.1, 7.4.1b(1)
#8 8.4.1i, Casebook 8.1.1B
#9 Casebook 7.2.1B
#10 8.4.1d(2)
#11 7.3.2, Casebook 7.3.2A, B, & C
#12 No rule exists
#13 8.1.1d (not an exception), Casebook 8.1.1D
#14 2.16.2
#15 8.2.7
#16 8.2.7
#17 8.4.1g
#18 3.2.2, 5.1.1f(4), Casebook 3.2.2A
#19 No rule exists
#20 8.3.3c, 8.3.5
#21 3.2.2
#22 8.2.2, 8.4.2n
#23 8.4.2b(2)
#24 8.4.2k, Casebook 8.4.2K
#25 8.4.2a, Casebook 8.4.2E
#26 8.4.2a, Casebook 8.4.2E
#27 2.19, Casebook 2.19.1
#28 8.2.8a
#29 1.2.10, 2.5.1, 2.16.1
#30 2.5.1, 2.16.1, Casebook 2.16.1C
#31 2.16.2
#32 2.9.1
#33 2.9.1, 5.1.1i, 8.3.3d
#34 2.21.2, 5.1.1f, 5.1.1g, 5.1.2c
#35 10.1.4
#36 8.2.6h
#37 8.2.6k
#38 8.2.6h
#39 8.2.6b, 8.2.6c
#40 8.2.6b, 8.2.6c
#41 5.1.1k
#42 6.1.2
#43 6.1.3
#44 6.1.3
#45 6.1.1
#46 No rule exists

National Federation of High Schools Softball
#1 8.1.2b
#2 2.56.1, 7.2.1b, 10.1.4 Note
#3 2.32.1, 7.4.4
#4 7.4.3
#5 7.1.1 Penalties
#6 7.4.7 Note, 8.1.1b
#7 8.1.1b, Casebook 8.1.1C
#8 Casebook 8.1.1A
#9 2.8.2
#10 7.4.13 Exception, Casebook 7.4.13
#11 7.4.8, Casebook 7.4.8A & B
#12 5.1.1k (slowpitch reference)
#13 8.1.2b, Casebook 8.1.2D
#14 2.25.2, Casebook 2.25.2
#15 Casebook 2.40A
#16 8.8.9
#17 8.2.5
#18 3.5.4, 5.1.1f(4), 8.4.1g
#19 No rule exists
#20 8.4.3f
#21 3.5.4
#22 8.3.2, 8.6.7
#23 8.6.13
#24 8.6.11
#25 8.6.1, 8.8.1
#26 8.6.1, 8.6.10, 8.8.1
#27 2.30.1
#28 8.3.3, 8.3.7, Casebook 8.3.3A
#29 1.2.2, 2.22.2, 2.25.1
#30 2.20.2, 2.22.2, 2.25.1, Casebook 2.25.1D
#31 2.25.2, Casebook 2.25.2
#32 2.9
#33 2.9.4, 5.1.1i, 8.4.3i
#34 2.32.2, 5.1.1f(1), 5.1.2c
#35 10.1.4
#36 2.1.12
#37 2.1.11
#38 2.1.12
#39 2.1.3a, 2.1.3b
#40 2.1.3a, 2.1.3b
#41 5.1.2a, 6.2.3 Exception
#42 6.1.4a
#43 No rule exists
#44 No rule exists
#45 6.1.2c, Casebook 6.1.2B
#46 6.1.4d, Casebook 6.1.4A & C

USSSA Fastpitch Softball
#1 10.1 Note 2
#2 7.5C, 14.8 Note
#3 3.39A, 7.12
#4 7.10
#5 7.2
#6 8.17I
#7 7.14D
#8 3.14 Note, 7.14D
#9 3.13
#10 7.14F Exception
#11 7.14G, 7.14H
#12 No rule exists
#13 10.1 Note 1
#14 2.30
#15 8.10
#16 8.10 Note 2
#17 3.39A, 8.17E Exception
#18 8.14A(1), 8.18AA, 10.3F(4)
#19 No rule exists
#20 8.14C(3), 8.15C
#21 8.18AA
#22 8.6B, 8.18Q, 8.18U
#23 8.18B
#24 8.18N Exception
#25 8.18A
#26 8.18F, 8.18G
#27 3.35, not listed in Rule 10
#28 8.6F
#29 1.2, 3.23, 3.28
#30 3.23 Note
#31 3.30
#32 3.14
#33 3.14, 8.14D(6), 10.3I
#34 3.39B, 10.3F(1), 10.4D
#35 14.8
#36 3.26, 9.1B
#37 9.8
#38 4.2B(1)
#39 9.2, 9.3
#40 9.2, 9.3
#41 10.4A
#42 6.1G(1)
#43 No rule exists
#44 No rule exists
#45 6.1E(3)
#46 6.1F(4)
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 01:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
RE: 19...

I maintain that the book stipulates that the defense must get the ball to 1B before the runner gets there, ergo: Tie goes to the runner.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 10, 2010, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC View Post
RE: 19...

I maintain that the book stipulates that the defense must get the ball to 1B before the runner gets there, ergo: Tie goes to the runner.
Maintain it all you want... but two things 1) the book never, ever states "Tie goes to the runner" and 2) depending on which book you're looking at, you can find the same statement (under runner, not batter-runner) the other way around.

Not to mention that there's no such thing as a tie.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2010, 08:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
It is true that one of the books (USSSA) reverses (and another, NSA, goes ambiguous) on the runner (as compared to the batter-runner). But, the preponderence of the rules say the defense must act before the offense gets to the base. No, the book doesn't use the words "tie goes to the runner," but the words used have the same meaning.

And as far as "no such thing as a tie..." the human mind has a lower time limit under which it cannot tell which happened first. I think you would have to consider this a tie. While you may attempt to force your mind to decide one happened first, you will be telling it to "make stuff up" and may begin to include information not relevant (such as "shouldn't have been that close," "that fielder made a good play," or "man, that runner is fast.") By allowing the reading of the rule to guide you, you don't have to do any of that.

I'm sorry, I'm going to have to go with "BUSTED" on this myth.

Rule citations are below. I don't happen to have an NFHS rule book handy. If anyone would like...

BTW, these are all fast pitch versions. OBR says the tie goes to the defense. Maybe slow pitch does too?


ASA (2008):

8.2.B (batter-runner is out) When after hitting a fair ball the batter-runner is put out prior to reaching first base.

8.7.c (runner is out) When, on a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball, or tags the runner before the runner reaches the base.


NCAA (2010):

(batter runner is out)

12.4.1 When she hits a fair ball and is legally put out before reaching first base.

(runner is out)

12.9.1.1 Contacts the base while holding the ball;
12.9.1.2 Touches the ball to the base; or
12.9.1.3 Tags the runner before she reaches the base.

NSA (2005): 8.7.b

When after a fair ball is hit, the ball is held by a fielder touching 1st base with any part of his/her person, before the batter-baserunner touches 1st base.

8.8.c (ambigous on the runner... hmm, this reads like you could do it while the runner is on the base. )

When, on a force out, a fielder tags him/her with the ball or tags the base.

ISA (2008):

7.2.h When, after a fair ball, a fielder holds the ball on first base before the batter-runner touches or passes that base.

7.8.c When, on a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball, touches the ball to the base or tags the runner before the runner reaches the base.

USSSA (2008): 8.17.c

If, after a third strike or a fair hit, any fielder, while holding the ball, touches the batterrunner before the batter-runner touches first base; or if any fielder, while holding the ball securely in a hand, touches first base or touches first base with the ball before the batter-runner touches first base.

however, 8.18.M does reverse at the other bases:

He fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags runner out; or holds the ball while touching such base, after runner has been forced from the base occupied because the batter became a runner.

WFC (2009):

7.2.b (batter-runner) When after hitting a fair ball the batter-runner is legally put out prior to reaching first base.

7.8.c (runner) When, on a force play, a fielder contacts the base while holding the ball, touches the ball to the base or tags the runner before the runner reaches the base.

AFA (2008): 12.7.a

When, on a force play, a fielder (1) contacts the base while holding the ball, (2) touches the ball to the base or (3) tags the runner before she reaches the base.

USFA (2009)... ha ha ha... I guess the myth applies because there's no definition at all; you're just supposed to know this.

IFA

11.3.1 (batter-runner is out when: ) She hits a fair ball and is legally put out before reaching first base
11.7.1 (base runner is out: ) When on a force play, a fielder:
a) Contacts the base while holding the ball;
b) Touches the ball to the base; or
c) Tags the runner before she reaches the base.

PONY (2010)

9.7.d (batter-runner is out) When, after a fair ball is hit, the ball is held by a fielder touching first base with any part of her person before the batter-baserunner touches first base.

9.8.c (runner is out) When, on a force-out, a fielder tags her with the ball or holds the ball on the base to which the baserunner is forced to advance before the runner reaches the base.

DIXIE YOUTH (2006)

8:07.b (batter/baserunner is out) When after a fair ball, the ball is held by a fielder touching first base with any part of her person before the batter/baserunner touches first base.

8:08.c (baserunner is out) When on a force-out a fielder tags her with the ball or holds the ball on the base to which the baserunner is forced to advance before the baserunner reaches the base.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2010, 08:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Orange County NY
Posts: 698
Send a message via Yahoo to ASA/NYSSOBLUE
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Maintain it all you want... but two things 1) the book never, ever states "Tie goes to the runner" and 2) depending on which book you're looking at, you can find the same statement (under runner, not batter-runner) the other way around.

Not to mention that there's no such thing as a tie.
The explanation - right or wrong - I always give to the 'tie goes to the runner' crowd, is the book infers that the runner must reach the base safely, so that if there is a 'tie', the runner did NOT reach 'safely'....usually works....
__________________
www.chvbgsoinc.org
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2010, 08:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE View Post
The explanation - right or wrong - I always give to the 'tie goes to the runner' crowd, is the book infers that the runner must reach the base safely, so that if there is a 'tie', the runner did NOT reach 'safely'....usually works....
It may work, but it isn't supported by the rule book. In fact, read up a reply, the opposite is true.
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2010, 08:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE View Post
The explanation - right or wrong - I always give to the 'tie goes to the runner' crowd, is the book infers that the runner must reach the base safely, so that if there is a 'tie', the runner did NOT reach 'safely'....usually works....
If I ever have to give an explanation, I generally just say, "She beat the throw" or "The throw beat her".
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 11, 2010, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
#9 If the batter does not pull the bat back while in the bunting position, it is an automatic strike. FALSE in baseball, but TRUE in softball. A strike is defined in part as, “A legal pitch that is attempted to be hit by the batter and is missed.” In baseball, merely holding the bat in the bunting position is not to be interpreted as the batter attempted to hit the ball, but in softball, holding the bat in the strike zone is to be interpreted as a bunt attempt.

In NCAA softball, holding the bat in the strike zone is ipso facto considered "offering." Not so in ASA, unless there was a rule change in the past year or so.

Another myth I've heard more than once is that if a pitcher is replaced during an at bat, the batter's strikes disappear.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 14, 2010, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Quote:
Originally Posted by JefferMC View Post
RE: 19...

I maintain that the book stipulates that the defense must get the ball to 1B before the runner gets there, ergo: Tie goes to the runner.
I agree with you with the wording of the rule in most rule sets, but I fall within mbcrowder's group as all other experienced umpires in my area do: There are no ties.

Greymule, as ASA fastpitch has all but disappeared in this area, I didn't check their rule set. However, this is a rule that FED and USSSA implemented in the last year, so its possible that ASA has the same interpretation now as well.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2010 Edition TwoBits Baseball 11 Thu Jun 10, 2010 12:21pm
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2010 Edition, Rules References TwoBits Baseball 1 Thu Jun 10, 2010 11:31am
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2010 Edition, Part 3 TwoBits Baseball 0 Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:13am
Top Baseball/Softball Rules Myths, 2010 Edition, Part 2 TwoBits Baseball 0 Thu Jun 10, 2010 10:12am
Baseball-Softball Rules Differences dan_renninger Softball 10 Wed Dec 19, 2007 07:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1