![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Mike, of course, nailed it.
Don't forget that if any of these runners realizes they are where they shouldn't be, and pitcher is still doing nothing - if they leave the base, they are out.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
|||
I believe that case play was FED, and only 2 runners. But I guess we'll give partial credit.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Well, yeah, I guess so. The rule says "a base" not "a base that they're entitled to."
__________________
Just Tryin' to Learn... |
|
|||
well fed has a similar play from the casebook. in section 8.
bases load r3 steals (why, who knows?), r2 does nothing, ball in circle, pitcher does nothing. pu waits a little to see if r3 will do nothing. nope. rules dead ball and calls r3 out. how you like them apples? add that to the asa vs feds differences. and you guys are slipping if I find this 5 days later ![]() Last edited by ronald; Tue Jun 01, 2010 at 11:05am. Reason: for humor |
|
|||
Can you post the actual play... I thought it was also FED that had the opposite case play that mirrors ASA.
Incidentally, what in the world are they calling R3 out for - what rule is cited?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Yes. In both, the umpire waits a reasonable time for a play to be made, and if no play is made, declares the ball dead. After that, they differ. In ASA, the umpire directs the runners to their proper bases. In NFHS, the umpire declares the runner that is not entitled to the base OUT.
__________________
Tom |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Never happened to me before | stripes | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 17, 2007 05:14pm |
It happened again... | NM_Ref | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 16, 2007 08:17pm |
Whatever happened to "Whatever happened to class"? | UmpJM | Baseball | 7 | Sat Jul 30, 2005 03:49pm |
Sure wish it hadn't happened ....... | TexBlue | Softball | 53 | Fri Apr 30, 2004 12:27am |