The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   TWP that actually happened (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/58213-twp-actually-happened.html)

MD Longhorn Wed May 26, 2010 05:09pm

TWP that actually happened
 
OK, this happened about 2 years ago (and it was in 8U... where all the TWP's happen), but it happened and I've been gone a while. Let some of the newer folks take a shot at this before the big guns come in and answer.

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, no outs.

Batter hits a medium-high trouble ball between RF and CF. R1 takes off, R2 holds to see if it's caught. Ball falls to the ground, but 3BCoach thinks it's caught and yells at R1 to get back. R2 sees it drop and easily makes it to 2nd. 1BC is watching the ball and waiving his arm, so BR keeps going. R2 standing on 2nd when R1 and BR both slide into 2nd at about the same time.

Meanwhile, CF retrieves the ball and throws it over F1's head. F2 retrieves and gets it back to pitcher because that's what she always does.

F1 has the ball in the circle and makes absolutely no indication that she's going to ever make a play.

What do you do?

ronald Wed May 26, 2010 06:17pm

if my memory serves me, and as i age it does not do a good job, there is a case play like (fed i think) this but they put neither runner moves. ruling. call time and put the one back on first. if wrong someone will point it out. if right someone will probably find the play or the one i am thinking of.

Az.Ump Wed May 26, 2010 07:11pm

As long as no runner has passed a preceding runner R1 and BR are not entitled to 2B and if they don't move they (only one) are guilty of LBR. Dead ball and someone is out.

Paul

Dakota Wed May 26, 2010 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Az.Ump (Post 678695)
As long as no runner has passed a preceding runner R1 and BR are not entitled to 2B and if they don't move they (only one) are guilty of LBR. Dead ball and someone is out.

Paul

Where does it mention "entitled to" in the LBR?

tayjaid Wed May 26, 2010 08:38pm

I would do nothing until SOMEONE realized that there were 3 runners standing on 2nd. Then, if they tag them, I say R1 out ( she is forced ) R2 safe ( is entitled to base) BR out (she is not entitled to 2nd.) Not looking in a rule book, just guessing!

Az.Ump Wed May 26, 2010 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 678697)
Where does it mention "entitled to" in the LBR?

Tom it does not. But in “S” right above it does. Just trying to get an out. I guess we should just stand there until something happens.

Paul

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 26, 2010 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 678689)
OK, this happened about 2 years ago (and it was in 8U... where all the TWP's happen), but it happened and I've been gone a while. Let some of the newer folks take a shot at this before the big guns come in and answer.

R1 on 2nd, R2 on 1st, no outs.

Batter hits a medium-high trouble ball between RF and CF. R1 takes off, R2 holds to see if it's caught. Ball falls to the ground, but 3BCoach thinks it's caught and yells at R1 to get back. R2 sees it drop and easily makes it to 2nd. 1BC is watching the ball and waiving his arm, so BR keeps going. R2 standing on 2nd when R1 and BR both slide into 2nd at about the same time.

Meanwhile, CF retrieves the ball and throws it over F1's head. F2 retrieves and gets it back to pitcher because that's what she always does.

F1 has the ball in the circle and makes absolutely no indication that she's going to ever make a play.

What do you do?

Speaking ASA

The umpire(s) should give it a couple seconds to see if anyone reacts or makes a move. If none, the ball should be declared dead, R1 is placed on 3B, R2 stays on 2B and the now-R3 is returned to 1B.

CecilOne Thu May 27, 2010 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 678689)
. Let some of the newer folks take a shot at this before the big guns come in and answer.

Oh well. :rolleyes: :p

MD Longhorn Thu May 27, 2010 07:20am

Mike, of course, nailed it.

Don't forget that if any of these runners realizes they are where they shouldn't be, and pitcher is still doing nothing - if they leave the base, they are out.

ronald Thu May 27, 2010 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 678753)
Mike, of course, nailed it.

Don't forget that if any of these runners realizes they are where they shouldn't be, and pitcher is still doing nothing - if they leave the base, they are out.

wait a minute... where is my credit for remembering it. :mad::mad::D:D:D:D

MD Longhorn Thu May 27, 2010 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 678828)
wait a minute... where is my credit for remembering it. :mad::mad::D:D:D:D

I believe that case play was FED, and only 2 runners. But I guess we'll give partial credit.

JefferMC Thu May 27, 2010 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 678753)
Mike, of course, nailed it.

Don't forget that if any of these runners realizes they are where they shouldn't be, and pitcher is still doing nothing - if they leave the base, they are out.

Really?

Well, yeah, I guess so. The rule says "a base" not "a base that they're entitled to."

ronald Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:03am

well fed has a similar play from the casebook. in section 8.

bases load r3 steals (why, who knows?), r2 does nothing, ball in circle, pitcher does nothing. pu waits a little to see if r3 will do nothing. nope. rules dead ball and calls r3 out.

how you like them apples? add that to the asa vs feds differences.

and you guys are slipping if I find this 5 days later :)

MD Longhorn Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:18am

Can you post the actual play... I thought it was also FED that had the opposite case play that mirrors ASA.

Incidentally, what in the world are they calling R3 out for - what rule is cited?

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 01, 2010 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronald (Post 679499)
well fed has a similar play from the casebook. in section 8.

bases load r3 steals (why, who knows?), r2 does nothing, ball in circle, pitcher does nothing. pu waits a little to see if r3 will do nothing. nope. rules dead ball and calls r3 out.

how you like them apples? add that to the asa vs feds differences.

and you guys are slipping if I find this 5 days later :)

Think it is a different play. Batter ball where they were on the base before the ball reached the pitcher in the circle and are out, by rule, if any of them leave the base. The play above doesn't state when the ball reached the pitcher in the circle.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1