The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 02:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post
No, I believe in ASA, a batter who has made an out would not be provided the opportunity to make another out in the same inning until the other 8/9 batters have had an equal opportunity.

Well, we disagree on this. I'm interpreting ". . . and is scheduled to be the proper batter" as applying at the moment the penalty is enforced, not after a batter or several batters later in the inning.

In other words, I think you skip B3 if he made an out when B2 was supposed to bat, or B5 instead of B4, or B9 instead of B8. But if, for example, B8 batted and made an out when B4 was supposed to bat, then B4 is out, B5 bats, and B8 would bat a second time in that inning if his turn came up. (Otherwise, the rules should say something about not batting again in the inning until you've gone through the order.)

I suspect you are deriving your interpretation partly from Part d, where the change of inning would appear to allow the batter "scheduled to be the proper batter" to bat again. For example, B3 bats instead of B2 and strikes out for the second out. The defense appeals the BOO. B2 is called out for the third out. Now, according to Part d, B3 leads off the next inning, batting for the second time in a row.

But this is merely my reading of the rules. I never sought an official ruling from ASA. I don't know of a definitive case play on this situation, but if I get time today, I'll see whether I can find one.
Go to an earlier thread here.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 03:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Yes, there was an earlier thread on this, too.

Everything in the "clarifications" makes sense to me, including:

"EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter."


I read this literally, as applying only when the batter who batted out of order and made an out happens to be the next proper batter. I don't see anything in the clarifications or the rules indicating that any batter who bats out of order and makes an out (and BOO is appealed) is skipped over if he is to come to bat later in the inning.

But if this is indeed the case, then a rule should be written to reflect that fact, e.g., "If an improper batter makes an out and the defense appeals, the out made by the improper batter counts, the batter who failed to bat when he should have is called out, the next batter in the lineup becomes the proper batter, and the improper batter who made an out is skipped over the first time he comes to bat later in the inning."

Otherwise, we're expanding the exception, which clearly applies in one specific case, to everybody in the lineup.

But again, let's see a case play or get a ruling from ASA. In fact, I'll see if I still have Bob Mauger's e-mail address.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 23, 2010, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Whatever
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 25, 2010, 07:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule View Post

"EXCEPTION: If the incorrect batter is called out as a result of their time at bat and is scheduled to be the proper batter, skip that player and the next person in the line-up will be the batter."


I read this literally, as applying only when the batter who batted out of order and made an out happens to be the next proper batter. I don't see anything in the clarifications or the rules indicating that any batter who bats out of order and makes an out (and BOO is appealed) is skipped over if he is to come to bat later in the inning.
I'm also reluctant to disagree with Mike, but I'm sticking with the comments made by greymule and others. I take the exception literally.

Speaking ASA,
If B1 is scheduled to bat, but B3 bats instead and makes an out: B2 is called out for BOO, B3's out stands, B3 is skipped based on the exception because she is now the proper batter at that instant, and B4 will bat.

If B1 is scheduled to bat, but B4 bats instead and makes an out: B2 is called out for BOO, B4's out stands, B3 is scheduled to be the proper batter, so she is brought to the plate. At the time of "play ball," the order is then B3, B4, B5...

After establishing the proper batter at the time of the BOO, the lineup thereafter cannot change because no rule supports such a change. The exception applies only to the instant that you are deciding who is the proper batter.

Good luck keeping the scorebook on that one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1