The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 19, 2010, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
This one's easy... F5 obstructed the runner without the ball and was not about to receive it... this is textbook obstruction. Doesn't matter whether F6 was about to receive it or ALREADY HAD IT. F5 obstructed. Period.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 21, 2010, 08:28pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
I saw the play and also had obstruction. Even have the game on TIVO. Replayed many times. Still come up with obstruction.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
This one's easy... F5 obstructed the runner without the ball and was not about to receive it... this is textbook obstruction. Doesn't matter whether F6 was about to receive it or ALREADY HAD IT. F5 obstructed. Period.
Sorry but the obstruction did not occur until after the out was made. It's not that easy. That is why it is called judgment. If I was the coach I would have asked a simple question. "When did the obstruction occur"? Tex look at it again. Shortridge was not obstructed until she made contact with F5 (she was going full speed until that time), and at that time the out was already made.

Last edited by vcblue; Sat May 22, 2010 at 01:16am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 11:25am
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
I have re-played this play many times. The obstruction happened either an instant before or at the same time the out was made at third. Too close to call. The obstruction did not happen after the out.

Keep in mind the out was called by the umpire at 3rd base and the obstruction was called by the home plate umpire.

I was surprised that both umpires did not get together to discuss the play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 22, 2010, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura County, CA
Posts: 257
And that is my point the umpire that had all the elements in front of her at 90 degrees did not call obs, but the umpire that had at least to players blocking his view of the whole play did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Watching other umps call games. iowasoftballump Softball 17 Sat Jun 13, 2009 10:45pm
NCAA must call this different-with video oc Basketball 20 Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:16pm
NCAA Umps..... Chess Ref Softball 12 Wed Mar 07, 2007 05:44pm
Quick NCAA Question tjones1 Basketball 3 Fri Feb 10, 2006 02:04am
Coming from FIBA down to ncaa, quick question. KLeaneR Basketball 5 Wed Nov 03, 2004 02:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1