The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 06, 2010, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
So the R1 run would count, even though they were touch out order. Would that be considered as a R2 passing R1?

No, if a runner misses a base and then a following runner touches that base, the following runner is not considered to have "passed" the preceding runner. Passing means physically passing.

The appeal on a runner who has left before the first touch that leads to a catch is never a force play. If it's the third out, any preceding runners that scored before the out count. Following runners who scored do not count.

An appeal of a missed base can be either a force play or a time play, depending on the circumstances. But know that the various codes are not completely aligned on this matter. For example, an appeal of a missed base might be a force play in baseball but not in softball, even on the exact same type of play.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Force play or time play? Rita C Baseball 44 Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am
Force or Time Play?? Dave Davies Baseball 7 Mon Aug 08, 2005 11:14pm
Out at first not a force play greymule Baseball 6 Mon Jan 06, 2003 06:13pm
Force Play brandda Baseball 1 Sun May 19, 2002 01:17am
Third out without a force play collinb Softball 5 Thu May 03, 2001 03:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1