![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If you choose to do this, it must be done judiciously, as your PU partner will have other responsibilities and there may be other runners moving around second and third base. Almost all of the umpires that I work with have been trained to hold near the plate to see the play at first before releasing to third for any potential call there. However, I have seen some PUs immediately release to third when the ball is hit and are not in any position to offer help. Most of the time, any other runners will have advanced one base or be holding at a base since the ball has remained in the infield on this play and the PU will be able to help.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
Quote:
Speaking ASA and from JJ, if a runner is on second base and a ball is hit to the infielder with the first throw going to 1b, the plate umpire exits to the left and straight up the line with his/her head on a swivel to look at first. Given that you have done Men's B and A and open are next, there is a chance JJ will be your UIC . . . Ron |
|
|||
Quote:
that means you are not sure you saw an out. And if you didn't see an out, how are you going to call it if your partner isn't available to help? Too many things can go wrong with a hesitation and waiting for help that may not be there. After all, if there are any other runners, his responsibility AND priority must be them.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Coming from the same continent as DutchAlex, but a different country, we established the following for experianced crews (!): In a sit, like the one in the OP, the BU should ask: "Did you see her pull the foot?" That would enable the PU to answer "No!" in a case (s)he didn't look or judges the foot was not pulled. And "Yes" if (s)he saw it. I don't think it means I did not see an out. It means from what I could see I had an out, but I might have missed one information and I will ask for it. Afterwards the BU will make the call. But I guess our coaches are different from yours ![]() ![]() But in general I agree that the PU should NEVER overrule! How should the PU know, that the BU is missing the information and not just had a different judgment on that situation? It might be easy writing down obvious Situations but in real life it is more complex! Raoul |
|
|||
Greetings, mach3!
An umpire asking another umpire for help on a call is absolutely acceptable and happens all the time. It's perfectly normal for one umpire to seek out that information. However, when a particular play is completely my call, it's inappropriate for another umpire to attempt to push their call and attempt to "overrule" me. In fact, the rules prohibit this. If it's my call and I need help, I'll ask for it. Otherwise, all other umpires should keep their opinions to themselves. Make sense? ![]()
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
@NCASA Ump: No disagreement. My Call, I CAN go for help but if not the call is my business and I have to live with it. And when it comes down to it my partner is there to help my to to show me off.
@IRISHMAFIA: Yes all, Information that I have indicates the out. But I am not sure if she lost contact during her stretch (due to the angle I had) AND the situation allows me to ask before I rule, why shouldn't I try to get the information my partner might have and include it into my call? Why should I wait for the coach to yell at me, ask for my partners information, turn the call and have the other coach in face? Of course if my partner is busy or has no other information, I have to with what I got. But I can see where you coming from. And we only have experienced Umps doing this and crews that are comfortable with it. Raoul |
|
|||
Maybe I should have worded my post differently. I understand rule prohibits the PU to overrule. But would a PU call time and discuss with BU what he saw so in an effort to get the call right?
I guess I see basketball/football refs do this all the time, get together, confer, try to get it right. IMO if your paying a "team" of officials every set of eyes has value. It's interesting to find out that this seems to be a situation for softball where it is more important to most to handle it procedurally correct than get the call right. (because umpires seem to feel handling it prodedurally correct is getting it right, while most laymen would feel that F3 catching the ball off the bag is not an out) |
|
|||
Part of the "procedure" as you put it involves the coaches. The OC needs to request time and tell the BU that he saw a pulled foot and request that the BU confer with his partner. That is how the call is gotten "right."
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
If it has that many holes that it can't or shouldn't be used sometimes, then it shouldn't be the standard.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Do you overrule yourself ? | WeekendRef | Basketball | 7 | Mon Dec 05, 2005 08:56pm |
Should I Overrule the BU? | Matthew F | Baseball | 44 | Tue Aug 02, 2005 07:53pm |
Overrule? | Blue37 | Football | 30 | Wed Aug 25, 2004 06:55pm |
When to Overrule? | Dukat | Softball | 8 | Wed May 16, 2001 02:42pm |