The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 20, 2010, 05:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
I believe it is even more simple than that.

Once offensive team members enter the field, and/or OC touches the live ball, we have a dead ball. If an umpire is still on the field, why isn't their "protest" simply a dead ball appeal of a missed base? Interference doesn't even need to come into play; the run doesn't score.
Makes perfect sense to me.
However, after re-reading the ASA clarification, it seems that they never addressed the fact that the DC asked for an appeal, (which was part of the original sitch that occurred in the local rec league). I agree with Mike...I don't see interference.
To look at this from another perspective. We all know what our end of game responsibilities are in run scoring game ending situations in regards to runners touching their bases if forced, being alert for any type of appeal, location of the defensive players (should they want to make an appeal), etc. I've never read anything, or been instructed in a clinic that I need to make sure a coach or player doesn't interfere with a "thrown ball" after a game ending run has scored. BTW...the OP states that "the ball was returned to the infield" that to me does not equate to a "throw" as defined by the rules. I mean what if the ball had been picked up and handed to an umpire? Do we rule interference in the same sitch?
There was a similar sitch posted a few weeks ago. My feeling then, as now, is that when a game ending run scores, by definition, the game is over. Game over=ball is dead. Defense wishes to appeal, dead ball appeal rule(s) are in effect.

Last edited by KJUmp; Sat Mar 20, 2010 at 05:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 20, 2010, 09:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
However, after re-reading the ASA clarification, it seems that they never addressed the fact that the DC asked for an appeal, (which was part of the original sitch that occurred in the local rec league).
I had to reread that a couple times myself, but the original scenario states that the defensive team (not the coach) requested the appeal.

Since it wasn't stated otherwise, all other conditions required to make a DBA were met.

BTW, I still have to think the INT was OOO as posted.

Now, if it stated that the throw came into the IF and the OC picked up the ball and prevented the defense from gaining control (assuming they were trying to do so), then I can see a possible INT call.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.

Last edited by IRISHMAFIA; Sat Mar 20, 2010 at 10:00am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
February ASA Rules Clarifications IRISHMAFIA Softball 18 Tue Feb 23, 2010 12:34pm
April ASA Rules and Clarifications SRW Softball 10 Tue Apr 07, 2009 07:50pm
New Ump - Rules Clarifications kyleflan Softball 5 Tue Jun 26, 2007 03:27pm
Man it's cold in March refnrev Soccer 0 Mon Mar 27, 2006 08:00pm
STC, March 3rd kdf5 Football 6 Fri Mar 04, 2005 04:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1