The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 22, 2010, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJUmp View Post
Not quite sure I understand your question clearly, or exactly what you are referring to when you said "this variant of the situation". I'll try to reply based on what I think you're asking.
First, I'm not an NCAA expert either, I had my books handy when I saw the OP, found it an interesting sitch, and looked at it from the perspective that if it happened in a college game, how would I have handled it, referencing the applicable NCAAA rule number.
My point to the poster about the dead ball not being pertinent to the sitch is this...when the run scored the game was over. Home team is jumping around, high fiving each other thinking that they won. At that moment the rule book definition of a completed game had been satisfied. Because the game is over the ball is dead. To illustrate it another way, say the batter hits a home run over the fence. When the ball cleared the fence it became, by rule, a dead ball. The offensive player in the OP who threw the ball into the dugout did not cause the ball to become a dead ball. it already was a dead ball by virtue of the home run. Hence, her actions have no bearing on the play. There is no base award given to any of the runners or the batter runner because she threw the ball into the dugout. As Irish pointed out in his initial reply to OP.....(paraphrasing here)....'we don't need the ball.'
Our concern on the field as a crew is:
1. Did the runner on 1st complete her base running obligation to touch 2nd after the BR got her base hit that scored the runner from 3rd?
2. Did the defensive team satisfy the rule requirements for a proper appeal?
So, to clarify the variation youngump was describing, if R2 keeps running toward 2B, and a defender notices, the fielder cannot throw the ball to 2B to force out the runner?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When the obvious call isn't the right call Don Mueller Baseball 28 Mon Aug 20, 2007 01:46am
The right call or the correct call? Nevadaref Basketball 9 Mon Dec 11, 2006 10:21am
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1