The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
2010 ASA Exam

I guess ASA hasnt posted it yet, not sure why. If you are interested in the 2010 Exam you can download it here:

http://www.umpassigner.com/downloads...UmpireExam.pdf

I'll change the link to ASA once they post the exam.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
wade,

are you going to post a link to the answers for us?

Ron
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 11, 2010, 05:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Haha!

They'll be floating around soon enough anyway I'm sure....
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
wade - Thanks for posting that.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 68
Is it appropriate to ask for an opinion on a question on the exam? If so, here is the question.

35. B1 has an altered bat that is detected by the plate umpire before B1 enters the batter's box. What is the ruling?


a) B1 is called out.
b) B1 is disqualified.
c) B1 is ejected.
d) The bat is removed from the game as a preventative measure. No other penalty.

Reference 2010 ASA Umpire Manual, Rule 7-6-B.

I think both a and c are correct answers to the question. Rule 7-6 says the batter is out. The effect on 7-6-B says the batter shall be ejected from the game, and if in a tournament, shall be ejected for the remainder of the tournament.

I think what they are looking for is c since it is defined in rule 7-6-B. This may cause some umpires to miss the question.

Let the fun begin!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Is it appropriate to ask for an opinion on a question on the exam? If so, here is the question.

35. B1 has an altered bat that is detected by the plate umpire before B1 enters the batter's box. What is the ruling?


a) B1 is called out.
b) B1 is disqualified.
c) B1 is ejected.
d) The bat is removed from the game as a preventative measure. No other penalty.

Reference 2010 ASA Umpire Manual, Rule 7-6-B.

I think both a and c are correct answers to the question. Rule 7-6 says the batter is out. The effect on 7-6-B says the batter shall be ejected from the game, and if in a tournament, shall be ejected for the remainder of the tournament.

I think what they are looking for is c since it is defined in rule 7-6-B. This may cause some umpires to miss the question.

Let the fun begin!!!!
That is the rule, but you need to re-read it. The key is in the first 7 words of that particular section.

I'm not giving the answer, per se. You've already found it and announced it. It's up to you to come up with the correct interpretation.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 02:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,360
Now...no one else ruin this teaching moment....please!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 68
I gave everybody else a chance to chime in. What is your opinion on this part of the rule?

"or is discovered using an altered or non-approved bat"

Does "discovered using" also cover before you enter the better's box?

What say you?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 06:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
I gave everybody else a chance to chime in. What is your opinion on this part of the rule?

"or is discovered using an altered or non-approved bat"

Does "discovered using" also cover before you enter the better's box?

What say you?
Ding! Ding! Ding! There's your answer.

Since the batter hasn't stepped into the box yet, they haven't violated any rules that would subject them to an out, disqualification or ejection.

So that leaves us with...?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 22, 2010, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 123
The 2010 ASA Exam is now posted on the ASA site.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,199
Anyone have a problem with this question?

46. If a pitcher has started the pitch and the batter holds up a hand requesting “time” the umpire should:
a) Grant time and call a “no pitch.”
b) Grant time and call the pitch a “ball” or “strike” depending on the location of the pitch.
c) Grant time, come around the catcher and clean off home plate to allow the batter time to get re-set.
d) Not grant time and allow the batter to swing and take the result of that swing.


Given the choices above, the only logical reply can be "d", because it's the only choice that includes "not grant time".

However, I believe someone missed the word "Not" and it should be the start of reply "b". That would be the proper answer. Ref.: Umpire Manual, Chapter 5, E. General Responsibilities Both Slow Pitch and Fast Pitch; Time Out - Suspension of Play. [This is from my 2009 manual as I haven't received my 2010 yet. I don't recall seeing this documented as a change for 2010.]

Thanx.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 24, 2010, 09:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
46. If a pitcher has started the pitch and the batter holds up a hand requesting “time” the umpire should:
a) Grant time and call a “no pitch.”
b) Grant time and call the pitch a “ball” or “strike” depending on the location of the pitch.
c) Grant time, come around the catcher and clean off home plate to allow the batter time to get re-set.
d) Not grant time and allow the batter to swing and take the result of that swing.

Given the choices above, the only logical reply can be "d", because it's the only choice that includes "not grant time".

However, I believe someone missed the word "Not" and it should be the start of reply "b". That would be the proper answer. Ref.: Umpire Manual, Chapter 5, E. General Responsibilities Both Slow Pitch and Fast Pitch; Time Out - Suspension of Play. [This is from my 2009 manual as I haven't received my 2010 yet. I don't recall seeing this documented as a change for 2010.]

Thanx.
I think you may be correct. However, D is not wrong, just not 100% inclusive.

2009 ASA Umpire Manual, Page 241 (page 243 in 2010) under "Time Out-Suspension of Play" it clearly states that if the pitcher has started the pitch, time out should NOT be called.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,373
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
However, D is not wrong, just not 100% inclusive.
IOW, a classic test question.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
Intent............

Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
I gave everybody else a chance to chime in. What is your opinion on this part of the rule?

"or is discovered using an altered or non-approved bat"

Does "discovered using" also cover before you enter the better's box?

What say you?
strike4 - The bottom line here is "intent." What does the batter "intend" to do with the bat? - USE IT. That's good enough for me.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 25, 2010, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stevetheump View Post
strike4 - The bottom line here is "intent." What does the batter "intend" to do with the bat? - USE IT. That's good enough for me.
Yes, he intended to use it, but tell me... What rule did he actually break?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Fed Baseball johnnyg08 Baseball 46 Sun Jan 17, 2010 10:14pm
2010 Fed rules changes UMP 64 Softball 3 Tue Dec 29, 2009 08:26am
2009 - 2010 Interp bob jenkins Basketball 10 Fri Oct 30, 2009 07:36pm
NFHS Rules Changes 2010 Tim C Lacrosse 0 Fri Sep 18, 2009 09:54am
2009-2010 rule changes Mark Padgett Basketball 135 Wed May 06, 2009 06:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1