Is it appropriate to ask for an opinion on a question on the exam? If so, here is the question.
35. B1 has an altered bat that is detected by the plate umpire before B1 enters the batter's box. What is the ruling?
a) B1 is called out.
b) B1 is disqualified.
c) B1 is ejected.
d) The bat is removed from the game as a preventative measure. No other penalty.
Reference 2010 ASA Umpire Manual, Rule 7-6-B.
I think both a and c are correct answers to the question. Rule 7-6 says the batter is out. The effect on 7-6-B says the batter shall be ejected from the game, and if in a tournament, shall be ejected for the remainder of the tournament.
I think what they are looking for is c since it is defined in rule 7-6-B. This may cause some umpires to miss the question.
Let the fun begin!!!!
|