The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 17, 2010, 05:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 64
So my questions:
1) Did R1, by leaving the field of play after the obstruction call, forfeit her right to come back onto the field and physically touch HP? Could she have come out of the dugout, walked over to HP and stepped on it legally?
2) Had the defense appealed prior to the next pitch, would R1 be out on appeal?
3) If the throw from F2 had sailed into left field and B2 scored, would 2 runs score? I.E. If defense appealed R1 missed HP, as the third out, subsequent run(s) would not count? Or, after the play, R1 could not go back to touch HP after a subsequent runner had scored?

Under ASA rules:
1. I would say yes, she forfeited her right to touch HP once she entered the dugout.
2. Yes, she would be out. It is still the RUNNER'S responsiblity to touch any and all bases (including HP).
3. Yes, if the defense does NOT appeal, both runs count.
If the defense did make a proper appeal, NO runs would score.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstructed Runner blueump Softball 5 Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:21pm
coach physically assists runner jodibuck Softball 2 Mon Feb 09, 2009 09:37am
Obstructed Runner on an Out blueump Baseball 10 Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm
Physically assisting a runner or not? C'monBlue Baseball 9 Tue Jul 06, 2004 07:52am
runner returning to touch base shipwreck Softball 15 Fri Mar 29, 2002 09:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1