The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 05:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Back in TX, formerly Seattle area
Posts: 1,279
New rules learned in fall ball

Learned some new fall ball rules this weekend. Unfortunately there were only six of them. Some of you already know #2

1. If the pitched ball hits off the end of the knob on the bat, it's not a foul ball if the batter didn't offer.
2. Hands are part of the bat.
3. The PU is the "over umpire and he is over you and you have to go to him."
4. "You have to go to your partner for help on that (judgement call, sliding tag play at 3B) if I ask you to. That's the rule."
5. Not only is there no longer a batter's box when the lines disappear, there is also no longer a catcher's box -- so how can THAT rule apply? (catcher was so close to the plate she was about to get mugged --- and in the next game when one of my brethren let her set up wherever the hell she wanted, she got a free ride to the hospital so they could treat her "probably broken" injury.
6. It is ok for a coach who has been ejected to sit in the stands later on to "see some of his former players play" ... and while he is there to continue to harass the umpires who ejected him earlier in the day for being a total ucking fidiot.
__________________
John
An ucking fidiot
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 05:50pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkbjones View Post
Learned some new fall ball rules this weekend. Unfortunately there were only six of them. Some of you already know #2

1. If the pitched ball hits off the end of the knob on the bat, it's not a foul ball if the batter didn't offer.
2. Hands are part of the bat.
3. The PU is the "over umpire and he is over you and you have to go to him."
4. "You have to go to your partner for help on that (judgement call, sliding tag play at 3B) if I ask you to. That's the rule."
5. Not only is there no longer a batter's box when the lines disappear, there is also no longer a catcher's box -- so how can THAT rule apply? (catcher was so close to the plate she was about to get mugged --- and in the next game when one of my brethren let her set up wherever the hell she wanted, she got a free ride to the hospital so they could treat her "probably broken" injury.
6. It is ok for a coach who has been ejected to sit in the stands later on to "see some of his former players play" ... and while he is there to continue to harass the umpires who ejected him earlier in the day for being a total ucking fidiot.
Ahhh, sounds like the summer ball crapola has carried over into fall ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Warren, Ohio
Posts: 254
Send a message via Yahoo to umpirebob71
"Hands are part of the bat."

Hasn't that been the rule for years?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpirebob71 View Post
"Hands are part of the bat."

Hasn't that been the rule for years?
This does seem to be a rule I have been hearing for 24 years now. you shouldn't have just learned it in Fall ball. LOL
__________________
Bill Hohn is the MAN!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
I got the "Is that your rule?" recently...

Bases loaded - ball to F6 - run of the mill INT on R2 - BU db, int.

R1 had crossed the plate and went into the dugout.

Of course, fall ball right now is running about 100F so I'm a little cooked... start to get ready for the next pitch - my little cooked brain synapses click a little... and I realize, hey that runner needs to go back. Call time, put the runner back..

"Are you sure thats the rule?"

"Is that your rule or is that rule in the rule book?"

"Is it a new rule."

The hat trick of most irritating questions.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 07:47am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
I got the "Is that your rule?" recently...

Bases loaded - ball to F6 - run of the mill INT on R2 - BU db, int.

R1 had crossed the plate and went into the dugout.

Of course, fall ball right now is running about 100F so I'm a little cooked... start to get ready for the next pitch - my little cooked brain synapses click a little... and I realize, hey that runner needs to go back. Call time, put the runner back..

"Are you sure thats the rule?"

"Is that your rule or is that rule in the rule book?"

"Is it a new rule."

The hat trick of most irritating questions.
And they b*#@hed only because it took a run away. That's why you got the irritating questions. I know how this feels, very irritating.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post

"Are you sure thats the rule?"
Ahh.....yep!

Quote:
"Is that your rule or is that rule in the rule book?"
Ahh.....yep!

Quote:
"Is it a new rule."
Ahh....apparently just for you
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,809
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Call time, put the runner back..

"Are you sure thats the rule?"
Here's the answer you really wish you could give:

Coach, you're right; I should have given you an option. The run hasn't scored on the play, but if you would rather take an out for that runner, too, you don't have to put her back on the bases where she might still score a run for you.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 01:31pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Here's the answer you really wish you could give:

Coach, you're right; I should have given you an option. The run hasn't scored on the play, but if you would rather take an out for that runner, too, you don't have to put her back on the bases where she might still score a run for you.
Sad part is the coach might actually take the option!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Derry, NH
Posts: 1,243
2. Hands are part of the bat.

There are words added to the "official" dictionary each year. This "rule" is quoted so often that it might actually become part of sporting lexicon.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 30, 2009, 09:08am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here's a new one from the other day, which was a very very windy day (actually had a wind advisory!): Any pop-up in the infield is an infield fly.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2009, 07:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
They continue to come up with new ones. I guess I need to read the rule book better.

1st, when over running 1st base, it is not necessary for the player to immediately return to the base if the coach is standing there talking to them.

2nd, if a runner stays in the base line it is perfectly legal for her to run over the short stop fielding a batted ball. Are you sure blue? Is this a new rule blue? But she was in the base path! Same sentiment coming from the stands.

3rd, rocker step is not legal when a player gets thier lead on the pitch. They must remain stationary until the pitch is released.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2009, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
The one I've been hearing lately is when the batter hits a quick chip shot 50 feet into the outfield, "that's not a legal swing, blue! His wrists are supposed to break when he swings! It's in the book!"

First time I heard that, I seriously thought the player was smoking crack. WTF is he even babbling about? And then I heard it again on another field, different team, a couple of weeks later. "He's gotta break his wrists when he swings, blue! It's in the book!"

I'm wondering, "where are they GETTING this stuff? It HAS to come from somewhere..."

Finally, on another forum, I found the source.

ASA RS #10 - Check Swing / Bunt Strike.

I set them straight.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2009, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vacaville, CA
Posts: 304
Not a "new rule", but in the same vein...

Last night, Womens SP. After a hit with the bases loaded (two runs scored), older, male 3B coach tells me "a good umpire would have gotten the bat out of the way".
__________________
NFHS softball, ASA FP & SP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 01, 2009, 10:08am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
The one I've been hearing lately is when the batter hits a quick chip shot 50 feet into the outfield, "that's not a legal swing, blue! His wrists are supposed to break when he swings! It's in the book!"

First time I heard that, I seriously thought the player was smoking crack. WTF is he even babbling about? And then I heard it again on another field, different team, a couple of weeks later. "He's gotta break his wrists when he swings, blue! It's in the book!"

I'm wondering, "where are they GETTING this stuff? It HAS to come from somewhere..."

Finally, on another forum, I found the source.

ASA RS #10 - Check Swing / Bunt Strike.

I set them straight.
Sounds like this was in men's leagues? I've had this crapola line in coed wreck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fall Ball Sportsmanship stmaryrams Baseball 33 Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:08pm
A Season on the Brink... Fall Ball TussAgee11 Baseball 16 Sun Sep 17, 2006 12:20pm
Fall ball Hoosier_Dave Softball 28 Tue Aug 29, 2006 09:52am
Fall Ball ASA/NYSSOBLUE Softball 7 Mon Sep 12, 2005 08:47pm
New Rules I learned scottk_61 Softball 10 Tue Jul 20, 2004 01:52pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1