The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Question Out of batter's box

It looks like different rule for different organizations, but wanted more information. Can't understand why this rule would be different between organizations. Here is question...

Batter/slapper's "wheel" foot steps in front of home plate (field has not been re-lined and lines non-existent) and slaps ball foul.
Is batter out?
What I have found...
USFA says batter out only if ball hit in fair territory. NSA unclear. USSSA says batter out fair or foul (but if lines are not evident, benefit of doubt should go to batter). ASA-can't find rule.

Thanks for responses.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
The batter is out,

7-6-D When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box at the time the ball makes contact with the bat.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
The batter is out,

7-6-D When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box at the time the ball makes contact with the bat.
For clarification, that's the ASA rule that RKBUmp is giving. Please note that it does not specify whether the ball was hit fair or foul. As such, it does not matter whether the ball was hit fair or foul.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Pace, FL
Posts: 653
Send a message via AIM to argodad
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
The batter is out,

7-6-D When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box at the time the ball makes contact with the bat.
And it does not matter that the chalk lines aren't there. The batter's box is still there, it's still the same size, and the umpire has a pretty good idea of where the line would be if it were lined properly.

And the same rule applies for NFHS and NCAA. Batter is out.
__________________
Larry
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by argodad View Post
And it does not matter that the chalk lines aren't there. The batter's box is still there, it's still the same size, and the umpire has a pretty good idea of where the line would be if it were lined properly.

And the same rule applies for NFHS and NCAA. Batter is out.
Is it also a dead ball in NFHS and NCAA? The ball would be dead in ASA...
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 12:39pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Is it also a dead ball in NFHS and NCAA? The ball would be dead in ASA...
It's a dead ball in USSSA, at least in the slow-pitch game. Called this so many times this year I feel like it's become a trademark for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref Ump Welsch View Post
It's a dead ball in USSSA, at least in the slow-pitch game. Called this so many times this year I feel like it's become a trademark for me.
After I made this call only one time in my last tourney, I got a 15-minute lecture from the AUIC on how to make this call.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Is it also a dead ball in NFHS and NCAA? The ball would be dead in ASA...
Yes
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 01:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Same rule in PONY, dead ball, fair or foul.

Just for emphasis in all rule sets - boxes, boundaries, lanes, etc. are always there; visible lines or not.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
NSA is not unclear. NSA Rule 7-1-a
Quote:
The batter shall not have his entire foot touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or touching home plate when the ball is hit.

EFFECT: Sec. 1 (a-b) The ball is dead, the batter is out, baserunners may not advance.
Batter is out, regardless of where the batted ball ends up, since the ball is dead when hit.

This leaves UFSA as the only odd man out. Imagine my surprise.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 12:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
NSA is not unclear. NSA Rule 7-1-aBatter is out, regardless of where the batted ball ends up, since the ball is dead when hit.

This leaves UFSA as the only odd man out. Imagine my surprise.
What about YSISF? They cut off your hands.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 28, 2009, 02:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
What about YSISF? They cut off your hands.
Lousy, stinking INFIDELS!!!
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter's box Rita C Softball 11 Mon May 05, 2008 03:06pm
The batter's box SanDiegoSteve Softball 17 Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:31pm
batter's box? fan Softball 3 Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:44pm
In or Out of Batter's box rwest Softball 3 Tue May 10, 2005 11:27pm
Batter's box collinb Softball 3 Sun Mar 25, 2001 10:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1