The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 19, 2002, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally posted by Roger Greene
Ok guys,
I'm going to take a contrary opinion.
(This ? was originally on a baseball board, I heard, and it was discussed by some heavyweight umpires on UT. I agree with their conclusions.)

If the runner returns to tag the missed plate, we now have a time play, as the offensive player is acknowleging that he has not yet scored. If the return is after the 3rd out, no run scores. If it was before the time of the 3rd out the run would score.

Roger Greene
Roger - this is the only part that I have a problem with (big surprise ). I understand where you are coming from, but here is my thinking.

A runner who misses a base is generally considered to have acquired that base unless an appeal is made (i.e. Runner overruns 1st on a close play - we signal Safe). Why is this situation any different?? The runner has already crossed the plate and scored - now he/she is removing the right for the defense to appeal.

JMHO

-Kono
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1