The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 09:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Please provide a situation where a runner can score on INT on a fly ball.
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.
However, the BR is also declared out for the act of interference, and no run can score when the BR doesn't reach first base, no?
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
However, the BR is also declared out for the act of interference, and no run can score when the BR doesn't reach first base, no?
Two responses.

One, the BR didn't commit any act of interference; R2 did. R2 is out, and BR is awarded first base, UNLESS the umpire judges an intentional act of interference. So, not an automatic ruling; and many players could make the interference look unintentional, or at least put intent in doubt.

Two, to prove the original question, even if you add the judgment of intentional interference, simply change the play to no outs. R1 scores when there is interference on a fly ball.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 10:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Two responses.

One, the BR didn't commit any act of interference; R2 did. R2 is out, and BR is awarded first base, UNLESS the umpire judges an intentional act of interference. So, not an automatic ruling; and many players could make the interference look unintentional, or at least put intent in doubt.
Steve, INT on a fly ball, fair OR foul results in the runner AND the BR being declared out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Two, to prove the original question, even if you add the judgment of intentional interference, simply change the play to no outs. R1 scores when there is interference on a fly ball.
Yes, this would be the stickler. Granted that would have to be one speedster on third or the ball was it a mile high.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Whether or not a run scores before an act of interference is not an issue, IMO. The issue is did the offense benefit from the INT (e.g. a run scores that otherwise would not have - see the other thread on a runner using an act of INT to prevent being forced out).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Steve, INT on a fly ball, fair OR foul results in the runner AND the BR being declared out.
Provide rules support for this statement. I don't believe it is true 100% of the time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
Yes, this would be the stickler. Granted that would have to be one speedster on third or the ball was it a mile high.
It's only 60 feet. Quick runners can cover that distance in 3.8 to 4.1 seconds. I'm short, fat, and slow and I think I can do it in under 5.0 seconds.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Provide rules support for this statement. I don't believe it is true 100% of the time.
ASA: 8-7-j.
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
ASA: 8-7-j.
This sitch was specifically covered in this year's and last year's NUS. If the BR interferes with the defense's ability to catch a fly ball (in fair or foul territory), the ball is immediately dead, and only the BR is out. All runners must return.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Slick View Post
ASA: 8-7-j.
Quote:
ASA 8.7.j
When a runner interferes:
1. With a fielder attempting to field a batted fair ball or a foul fly ball, or
2. With a fielder attempting to throw the ball, or
3. With a thrown ball

Effect: If this interference, in the umpire's judgment is an attempt to prevent a double play and occurs before the runner is put out, the immediate trailing runner shall be called out.

4. Intentionally with any defensive player having the opportunity to make an out with the deflected batted ball.

Effect: The ball is dead and the runner is out. All other runners must return to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
What if it isn't an attempt to prevent a double play?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
This sitch was specifically covered in this year's and last year's NUS. If the BR interferes with the defense's ability to catch a fly ball (in fair or foul territory), the ball is immediately dead, and only the BR is out. All runners must return.
I don't think Big Slick was referring to the BR interferring, I think he was talking about a runner interferring on a fly ball.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #71 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
I don't think Big Slick was referring to the BR interferring, I think he was talking about a runner interferring on a fly ball.
Yes, I am referring to INT by a runner on a fly ball. I don't have my rule book at work, had to make a phone call for the rule reference. I believe there is a note that states: "On a fly ball, fair or foul, the batter runner shall also be called out." The latter part of the rule was added circa 2001. Only rule code to carry the foul ball provision.
Reply With Quote
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Y'all need to "turn the page" and read the EXCEPTION to 8.7.J-L.NOTE.
Reply With Quote
  #73 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
With 1 out, R1 is on 3rd and R2 is on 1st. B4 hits a high fly ball over fair territory, which F4 is under, ready to catch. R1 ran on contact, not realizing it was a fly ball, and crosses home plate while the ball is in flight. R2 realizes that F4 will turn an easy double play if the ball is caught, and interferes with the catch, so that F4 is unable to catch the ball.

Since the inteference rule returns runners to bases at the time of interference, R1 would score on this play, having crossed the plate prior to the act of interference. The ball was not caught, so there is no available appeal.
Actually, I believe we discussed this play quite a while back AND it was also discussed by the NUS.
Reply With Quote
  #74 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Y'all need to "turn the page" and read the EXCEPTION to 8.7.J-L.NOTE.
Ya mean dis one?

Quote:
When runners are called out for interference, the batter-runner is awarded first base.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 06, 2009, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Ya mean dis one?
And here I thought you had plenty of oxygen up your way. Guess I was wrong.

I clearly noted the 'EXCEPTION' which would be the next paragraph, COACH!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 6 3O enforcement - 20 second pitch rule wadeintothem Softball 5 Tue Jun 30, 2009 03:33pm
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1