![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I can buy that
However, it sounds like they are involved in the game at that point. Maybe its just schematics, but I interpret the ODB to not be involved in the game when they are in the ODC, but involved when they leave it to direct a runner. The results are the same. If they are involved they can't hinder the defense but they do have some protection. A bad throw by the defense that hits them and in no way hinders is a live ball. Had that same throw hit them while they were in the ODC, then we have a blocked ball.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'm on the fence with whether or not the ODB is "involved in the game," but here are the facts:
I had a play a couple of years ago where the ODB was struck by a thrown ball. It hit his foot (despite his attempt to avoid it), popped up a couple of feet into the air, and was caught by F1 backing up the throw. F1 was then able to quickly throw to F2 to attempt a play on a runner heading home. In my judgment, if the ball hadn't hit the ODB's foot, there would have been NO chance whatsoever on the runner. As such, I ruled that no INT was committed, and I also did not rule a blocked ball. In my judgment, the actions committed by the ODB could not warrant either call. Until I hear something from OKC that addresses this specific case (or someone finds something compelling in the rule book), I see no reason to rule otherwise under the above-mentioned circumstances.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
If the ODB leaves the circle to instruct runners to slide or not, and leaves 2 bats in the ODC and a ball hits a bat, does that automatically become a blocked ball?
If the throw should hit one of those bats [the ODB's bats, not the BR's bat] and then goes out of play, would the award be two bases from the time of the throw?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
|
Steve, Can you address the other statements in this thread?
Quote:
This is one area where I'd like ASA to be more clear on the status of the ODB. Also in FED are the answers to my question above the same? And can you provide rule references? I believe I've looked at them all, but just in case I missed one. Thanks! Randall
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
Read the rule very carefully. It seems like a simple rule, but the wording is very critical.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Batter picks up live ball | falsecut | Baseball | 12 | Sat Jun 13, 2009 09:24am |
| On-Deck Batter interferes with ball four | John Robertson | Softball | 25 | Mon Jul 21, 2008 01:34pm |
| Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul | GPC2 | Football | 9 | Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am |
| Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |