The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 08, 2009, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Had a similar play in the Women's Open championship game at the HCS a few years ago. The only difference is that F5 obstructed the runner and she was tagged going back into 3B.

The OBS did not hinder the runner from reaching home safely, but may have kept her from reaching 3B safely. When tagged diving back into 3B, I simply ruled dead ball, announced the OBS and awarded the runner 3B, by rule.

Yard Dawgs didn't like it and sure enough, they were in the 3B dugout. Coach came out and I explained the rule and call. He said, "but she threw the ball to the catcher." I said, "that's right, coach, she threw the ball and just stood there in the runner's path back toward 3B without the ball".

Based on the scenario you offered, the only way this runner is awarded home is as the result of a F.Y.C.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
obstruction??? mikeref Softball 22 Tue Jul 22, 2008 02:34pm
Obstruction at FB? Saltydog Baseball 1 Sat Jun 12, 2004 08:07pm
Obstruction (OBR) Kaliix Baseball 13 Fri May 21, 2004 12:13am
Obstruction FUBLUE Softball 2 Wed May 19, 2004 11:00am
Obstruction finfan Softball 2 Thu Apr 17, 2003 08:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1