The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Obstruction 101 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/53894-obstruction-101-a.html)

jmkupka Wed Jul 08, 2009 07:38am

Obstruction 101
 
Rundown between 3B & home. Runner is obstructed approaching 3B, reverses direction & the rundown continues. At least once more towards home and once more towards 3B. Then a final tag down by the plate.

Dead ball at the tag, return the runner to 3B?

wadeintothem Wed Jul 08, 2009 07:43am

Its wherever you think the runner would have made had there been no OBS.

reccer Wed Jul 08, 2009 07:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 613227)
. At least once more towards home

So, assuming that at this point you would have granted home on this obstruction, and further assuming there are no other runners, wouldn't you just stop play and award home?

jmkupka Wed Jul 08, 2009 08:24am

Scenario supplement
 
Runner was obstructed approaching 3B by F1. F6 (closer to 3B than either of them), had just received the thrown ball from F2, so runner would definitely have changed directions anyway & headed back home, with or without the OB.

So, she can't be put out between the bases, and with a banger at the plate, I guess it would be possible to protect her to the plate?

No-win situation for me, but I'm being paid to make the correct call/

NCASAUmp Wed Jul 08, 2009 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by reccer (Post 613231)
So, assuming that at this point you would have granted home on this obstruction, and further assuming there are no other runners, wouldn't you just stop play and award home?

No. There's still the possibility that the runner may commit an act of interference, which would supersede the act of OBS.

NCASAUmp Wed Jul 08, 2009 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 613237)
Runner was obstructed approaching 3B by F1. F6 (closer to 3B than either of them), had just received the thrown ball from F2, so runner would definitely have changed directions anyway & headed back home, with or without the OB.

So, she can't be put out between the bases, and with a banger at the plate, I guess it would be possible to protect her to the plate?

No-win situation for me, but I'm being paid to make the correct call/

Nonsense. You're not the one who screwed up defensively! :)

It's wherever YOU think, in your best judgment, the runner would have reached had there been no OBS. If it's 3B, it's 3B. If it's home, it's home.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Jul 08, 2009 09:26am

Had a similar play in the Women's Open championship game at the HCS a few years ago. The only difference is that F5 obstructed the runner and she was tagged going back into 3B.

The OBS did not hinder the runner from reaching home safely, but may have kept her from reaching 3B safely. When tagged diving back into 3B, I simply ruled dead ball, announced the OBS and awarded the runner 3B, by rule.

Yard Dawgs didn't like it and sure enough, they were in the 3B dugout. Coach came out and I explained the rule and call. He said, "but she threw the ball to the catcher." I said, "that's right, coach, she threw the ball and just stood there in the runner's path back toward 3B without the ball".

Based on the scenario you offered, the only way this runner is awarded home is as the result of a F.Y.C.

robbie Wed Jul 08, 2009 12:44pm

In NSA you award the leading base if obstruction during a "run down."

Also, dead ball on the obstruction as there is a play being made on the runner at time of obstruction.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1