The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 26, 2009, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
I have the same ruling in ASA as NFHS casebook play. Cite ASA 8.2-E(6).

Batter-runner isn't doing "what she is supposed to do". Under cited NFHS and ASA rules, the BR must avoid interfering with the catcher making the play on the dropped third strike.

The NCAA rule 12-2c heads in the same direction, and then adds a note not used in ASA or NFHS; "If both player' actions are appropriate to the situation and contact could not be avoided, it is inadvertant contact and not interference or obstruction."

Personally, I believe that defining one or the other as having the right of way (as defining this as interference) means contact must be avoided to not interfere. But, the NCAA version allows the BR to believe she can run without regard to interference, so long as the contact appears not intentional.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction at FB? Saltydog Baseball 1 Sat Jun 12, 2004 08:07pm
Interfence? Colt2Cat Baseball 15 Wed Jun 09, 2004 10:45am
Obstruction (OBR) Kaliix Baseball 13 Fri May 21, 2004 12:13am
Obstruction FUBLUE Softball 2 Wed May 19, 2004 11:00am
Obstruction finfan Softball 2 Thu Apr 17, 2003 08:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1