View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 26, 2009, 09:11am
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
If I remember correctly, Iowa is playing their NFHS season in the summer, so you are talking NFHS rules.

NFHS says this situation is interference.

In NFHS 8.2.6, you have the following:
Quote:
The batter-runner shall be called out when:
...or (F.P) interferes with a dropped third strike. ...
Looking in the 2009 case book, on page 50, 8.2.6 Situation D is directly on point.

Quote:
There are no runners on base with two outs; B3 has a count of 3-2. On the next pitch B3 swings and misses. The ball bounces off F2's shin guard and lands in front of home plate. As F2 moves out to field the ball, B3 runs into her, knocking her down. Ruling: This is interference. The umpire would call "dead ball" and rule the batter-runner out. In addition, if there were any runner(s) on base, they would be returned to the last base touched at the time of the interference.
I believe ASA would have this be a wreck with a no call. Correct?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote