The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 22, 2009, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
R1 on 1b, no outs. B2 Bunts. F4 comes to cover 1b and r1 runs so as to just make slight contact that prevents f4 from getting to 1B. He has his players do this and Malcolm Boyles told us about this play at the FP camp.

Naturally, now F4 takes a more circular route to 1b. I imagine when it happened at first f4 was quite near the base line and r1 did not have to go to far to get her.
Speaking ASA

Obviously, this is pure umpire observation and judgment on behalf of the umpire.

There is no rule to cover this as interference though it could be obvious that R1 is committing an act of interference. By definition and RS 33, it is interference, but there is no associated rule.

There was a rule change proposal a couple years ago that would have handled this on an UC level, but it went nowhere.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ran into Mike last weekend Steve M Softball 20 Sat Aug 04, 2007 02:13pm
For Mike Rowe VaASAump Softball 0 Tue Feb 01, 2005 08:41am
Thanks Mike jeffb Football 1 Mon Nov 03, 2003 07:35pm
Mike, I was just wondering . . . ntxblue Softball 3 Sat Oct 19, 2002 01:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1