The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 10:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump View Post
ASA
Here is the situation. 1 out, batter 9 #2 Jackie grounds out, 10 #21 Bobbie comes up to bat & flies out, before the defense leaves the field the coach appeals batting out of order. What do you do as the umpire?
The FLEX batting in the mythical #10 hole is not BOO, it is an illegal player batting for the #1 batter. (ASA 4-3-I).
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
This has come up repeatedly, and we seem to have concluded that it is illegal, not BOO. The confusion come from the possibility of the FLEX batting for the DP, which in the OP would obvioulsy be out of order and also unreported. Seems to me, that BOO would be a real stretch, so illegal sub is the solution.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
hrmmm..what would it be in FED? samey same?

never mind...
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Mon Jun 08, 2009 at 01:33pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 01:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue View Post
hrmmm..what would it be in FED? samey same?
Yes. 2-57-3. Illegal substitute.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 08, 2009, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
Yes. 2-57-3. Illegal substitute.
gracias.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1