The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
In Fed, that is still the initial play on the batted ball, so the call is interference.

In ASA, it is most likely obstruction.

In wade's world, it is a train wreck.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 11:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eau Claire,WI
Posts: 16
NCAA- Ive got nothing. I'm signaling safe to let everyone know i saw the contact and ruled nothing. I'm will be prepared to explain ruling if asked by coach. But at the same time it would have to depend on how the play happened....one of those have to see to make a call. But from the description above I've got nothing.
__________________
DJ
NFHS ASA ISC NAFA NCAA AFA

Last edited by 0balls2strikes; Thu Apr 30, 2009 at 11:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 11:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 746
DC: Blue, why no interference?

OC: Blue, why no obstruction?

Speaking NCAA.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:06pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
DC: Blue, why no interference?

OC: Blue, why no obstruction?

Speaking NCAA.
Ump: Coaches, since you're both out here, why not a no-call? *walking away*
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronald View Post
DC: Blue, why no interference?

OC: Blue, why no obstruction?

Speaking NCAA.
That was the exact reaction that I got. I called nothing. Everyone was upset.

What I wanted to say to the DC... "If your ss had a better coach, maybe she would have worked more on fielding and we wouldn't have an issue."

to the OC... "Have you thought about teaching your girls to move on contact? She should have been nowhere near that play."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badamk View Post
That was the exact reaction that I got. I called nothing. Everyone was upset....
If you did that in a Fed game, everyone had a right to be upset. Train wrecks have virtually disappeared from Fed softball. Get out your 2009 rule book and read everything in there about "initial play." In Fed, this should have been interference.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Your timing must be such that the noncall is used when no one else but you noticed or will complain.
When everyone complains - you missed the call that would have limited to only one complaint and would have resulted in an out, unless of course that would negate a game ending run.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Your timing must be such that the noncall is used when no one else but you noticed or will complain.
When everyone complains - you missed the call that would have limited to only one complaint and would have resulted in an out, unless of course that would negate a game ending run.
You're trying to get that trophy, aren't you?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 01, 2009, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Your timing must be such that the noncall is used when no one else but you noticed or will complain.
When everyone complains - you missed the call that would have limited to only one complaint and would have resulted in an out, unless of course that would negate a game ending run and leave players sprawled on the field crying while the umpire leaves with a menacing laugh!
This is what Wade really meant to say.......
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
If you did that in a Fed game, everyone had a right to be upset. Train wrecks have virtually disappeared from Fed softball. Get out your 2009 rule book and read everything in there about "initial play." In Fed, this should have been interference.
Out of the house, no references. Just like on the ball field, I suppose.

In NFHS, this contact HAS to be something. Your initial description of "a foot or two" makes it sound like the initial play (after muffing, still within a step and a reach) applies; if so, has to be interference. If more than a step and a reach, then it must be obstruction.

As a personal point of emphasis, the act of turning is often MORE than one step; if that is true (and it generally is), then the initial play has ended, and the fielder is no longer protected. If she literally pivots on one foot, THEN she still has a step and a reach available. We don't want to be rewarding misplays more than the written rule provides.

In ASA, as Mike mentioned, there is no initial play definition; if the fielder still has an opportunity to get an out, the fielder is still protected. If the ball was anywhere still in reach, that runner was still a possible out, so it almost has to be interference (in the play you describe). Again, if the ball is farther than that (so that you think the runners would all be safe if no contact), it has to be obstruction. This is, again, NOT a train wreck in ASA; someone has the right of way, and is protected.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 07:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Taking the OP at his word, "foot or two"... have to have pretty short legs and arms for this to not be within a step and reach, turn or no turn.

I agree on the ASA interp, but it is definitely HTBT. Since R1 was running behind F6 and F6 still had not retrieved the ball when the collision happened, a tag would have been unlikely, it seems to me. So, perhaps the out would have been the BR at first or a throw to F5 at third, but that is way too much speculation for the limited info given. That's why I said it was likely obs. But, still HTBT.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
In Fed, that is still the initial play on the batted ball, so the call is interference.

In ASA, it is most likely obstruction.

In wade's world, it is a train wreck.
Well heck I figured I'd go ahead and declare the train wreck since sports are getting mixed up so much lately.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 12:42pm
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadeintothem View Post
Well heck I figured I'd go ahead and declare the train wreck since sports are getting mixed up so much lately.
Didn't you throw your yellow flag for a personal foul unnecessary roughness??? And T the coaches up for giving you grief???
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 30, 2009, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
In ASA, it is most likely obstruction.
ASA would depend upon whether the umpire judged that F6 had the opportunity to make an out. If so, it in INT. (8.7.J.4)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Interference call benbret Softball 3 Wed May 17, 2006 06:47pm
Interference call Dakota Softball 3 Mon May 15, 2006 02:48pm
Would you call this interference? bobbrix Softball 12 Mon Jun 09, 2003 02:31pm
When do you call interference? greymule Softball 21 Fri Aug 30, 2002 10:45pm
Interference or no call jeffrey g. skinner Softball 7 Wed Mar 07, 2001 03:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1