![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I am not saying that's how I would call it. Just chucking something out there to think about. OC probably figured that with the ball tied up in the rundown she could make it and by some stroke of luck (or an OBS call) the run would score.
Something else - The OP says that the BR was tagged out sliding into third. What if she would have reached safely then F5 tagged her on the base since R1 was entitled to the base. Then you call dead ball and award the OBS but what about Naomi on third base? Is she still the third out?
__________________
TCBLUE13 NFHS, PONY, Babe Ruth, LL, NSA Softball in the Bible "In the big-inning"
Last edited by tcblue13; Wed Mar 04, 2009 at 01:25pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
________ properties Pattaya Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:46pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
then take a deep breath, because DC is for sure coming to see me. anyone see anything wrong with this?
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Now, if the BR/R stopped at 2B and, IMJ, believed the player would have reached 3B had the OBS not occurred, then I may chose to award that player 3B. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
( i am not awarding her home, i am giving her home that she would have legally obtained had the OBS not occurred)
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So, if you are telling us that at the time of OBS, you say to yourself "lead runner scores, trail runner gets third", then your preferred ruling is justified, since NOT reaching third safely is the result of the OBS. But, and I think this is what many of us are visualizing, if trail only gets to third because of the rundown occupying the defense, then trail isn't entitled to be dragged into the award, and if put out during live play there, then the out should stand. Remember, you are trying to say trail legally aquired third, but that isn't correct; trail isn't entitled to third if lead hasn't already touched the next base, and when lead returns, trail is in jeopardy. Might be a tough sell, but that's the way the rule is to be applied.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
I'll stick with a DMR, go get your glove. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Play 1 | SC Ump | Softball | 2 | Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:45pm |
| NFHS Play 1 | SC Ump | Softball | 3 | Thu Mar 13, 2008 10:42pm |
| Pick Play NFHS | referee20 | Football | 3 | Sun Aug 26, 2007 05:23pm |
| 5 point play in NFHS? | Jimgolf | Basketball | 22 | Tue Jan 16, 2007 12:21pm |
| Elbow away from the play - NFHS | Rich | Basketball | 25 | Fri Jan 24, 2003 11:27am |