Thread: NFHS Play
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2009, 12:12pm
CajunNewBlue CajunNewBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by FredFan7 View Post
Newer umpire here. Here's the play, NFHS Rules please.

Two outs, runner on second. Batter hits a line drive to the outfield. Runner from second is obstructed by the third baseman. The runner is caught in a rundown between third and home. Runner dives back safely into third. Then batter is tagged out sliding into third for the third out. So you have the obstructed runner safe at third, and the batter out at third.

The umpire deems that the original runner who was obstructed would have made it home.

What happens next?
Time is called... award OB'd runner home, count the run (provided that she would have made it home before the third out "timed play") and call runner out at third out for the 3rd out... and change sides.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.

Last edited by CajunNewBlue; Wed Mar 04, 2009 at 12:22pm.
Reply With Quote