![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The case book play and the rules are referenced. Do you not have an NFHS rule book and case book? And, yes, the NFHS case play says a pinch runner for the CR is legal, and that the pitcher (who was being run for in the case play) has left the game.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
checking again
Between this string and a newer one on when a player actually leaves the game, I'd like to touch upon the CR piece again.
A couple of replies earlier said that if the CR became injured, she could be replaced by either the player she was running for in the first place [and not affect that player's status] or a legal substitute, i.e. a pinch runner. The pinch runner would cause the pitcher or catcher for whom she is running to leave the game. Said replaced player could re-enter if that was her first time out of the game. Now back to the courtesy runner. Since she hasn't been in the game in a capacity other than CR, I think I'm hearing that if she's OK later in the game she could be a CR again [for her original player matchup] or enter the game in any other position/batting slot as a substitute. I guess my agita comes from the injury rule where a player cannot come back into the game [excepting if it was a blood rule issue]. Thanx for any clarity. Either ASA or NFHS. Ted |
|
|||
|
There is no such rule. An injured player may certainly re-enter later in the game if the player has a re-entry remaining (exception: NFHS where the injured player was rendered unconscious). Don't generalize the shorthanded rule to all injury situations. In ASA, if a team goes shorthanded, the player that left the game (for whatever reason - injury, dance lessons, grandmother's birthday,...) may not re-enter, unless the team played shorthanded temporarily under the blood rule.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Thanx Dakota - I probably was generalizing a bit too much. In the back of my mind I was thinking about the shorthanded rule and someone who might have left the game. Clearly, if a team still had the option of a CR, and that player was hurt and left the game, it would not affect the batting order or defensive positions.
Thanx Irish - yes, not a specific player matchup as I wrote. It could be a different player in a different part of the batting order later in the game. Key is the player who last played the position and earned her own way on base. Ted |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Test Question: What Does it Mean? | Spence | Basketball | 15 | Thu Sep 25, 2008 06:33am |
| NFHS test question # 99 | roadking | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 17, 2007 06:14pm |
| help with a few nfhs test question | roadking | Basketball | 6 | Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:00pm |
| NFHS Rules Test Question 82 | Jerry Baldwin | Basketball | 5 | Sat Oct 26, 2002 02:28am |
| Is This a For Real Question on NFHS Test | whiskers_ump | Softball | 7 | Thu Jan 31, 2002 05:16pm |