![]() |
|
|||
Another ASA Play
0 outs, R1 on 2B. B2 hits a grounder to F6 who makes a play to 1B. The BR just beats the throw, but only touches the white portion of the double base.
As F3 throws to 3B in an attempt to get the late-breaking R1, B2 takes a hard left and continues to 2B. R1 is tagged out. The defense then makes a live ball appeal that B2 missed 1B since he did not tag the colored portion of the base. The umpires consult and rule that the appeal is not applicable and B2 safe. The defense then protests the game on the basis of the umpire crew's misinterpretation of rule 8.2.M.3 The PU refuses to accept the protest. Is this correct? If not, why? UIC Clinic attendees - please refrain from responding for at least 24 hours. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
was a force play, became a tag play ? | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 8 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am |
Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am |
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |