The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
0 outs, R1 on 2B. B2 hits a grounder to F6 who makes a play to 1B. The BR just beats the throw, but only touches the white portion of the double base.

As F3 throws to 3B in an attempt to get the late-breaking R1, B2 takes a hard left and continues to 2B.

R1 is tagged out. The defense then makes a live ball appeal that B2 missed 1B since he did not tag the colored portion of the base. The umpires consult and rule that the appeal is not applicable and B2 safe.

The defense then protests the game on the basis of the umpire crew's misinterpretation of rule 8.2.M.3

The PU refuses to accept the protest. Is this correct? If not, why?

UIC Clinic attendees - please refrain from responding for at least 24 hours.
K, I'll take a shot. Whether a rule applies or not is not a judgment call, so accepting the protest is a no-brainer.
As for the rule, I can't see any reason it wouldn't apply. Unless I'm to read that B2 did not overrun the base. If B2 stopped on 1st base, then in my view that is a return and he's not out on appeal.
________
SexbombPerry

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
Did the PU refuse to accept the protest because it was not made before the "next play" on the runner from 2nd going to third?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Well....according to 9.1.A.2 a protest on a playing rule interpretation cannot be accepted after the "next play," and a subsequent play had occurred. So, I would have to say that all is okay in the OP, unless, of course, there is something that I am missing!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 92
Send a message via AIM to pollywolly60
If a protest is made here on misinterpretation of the rule, it should be allowed. I can't see a valid reason not to allow it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skahtboi View Post
Well....according to 9.1.A.2 a protest on a playing rule interpretation cannot be accepted after the "next play," and a subsequent play had occurred. So, I would have to say that all is okay in the OP, unless, of course, there is something that I am missing!
There wasn't a subsequent play after the appeal. There was play before the appeal. Since the protest was of the appeal I don't see how you can deny it.
________
Web shows

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
There wasn't a subsequent play after the appeal. There was play before the appeal. Since the protest was of the appeal I don't see how you can deny it.
Ah-ha!!!
__________________
Scott


It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was a force play, became a tag play ? _Bruno_ Baseball 8 Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am
Play-by-Play Commentary FC IC Basketball 2 Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am
CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? David Clausi Basketball 6 Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1