The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 30, 2002, 03:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sherman, TX
Posts: 4,387
First of all, only the offense can interfere. The defense obstructs.

In your first situation, it is a HTBT play, but from what you described I can see grounds for calling interference. However, with that said, if the runner, the fielder and the ball all arrived at the same point at the same time, it is quite possible that you could have had no call at all. Like I said, HTBT.

In the second situation, ask yourself the simple question of was the runner running out of the basepath to avoid a tag? From what you described, the answer would be no. The penalty is on a baserunner who strays more than 3 ft from the basepath, (not baseline, but the imaginary path that the runner creates from one base to the next)on either side, (stepping to the infield side or the outfield side is irrelevant), to AVOID A TAG!

Scott
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1