![]() |
|
|
|||
Never saw this before
R1 is waiting for the pitch and has back foot on bag and front foot is planted about 2ft on 2nd base side of infield...whilst waiting she is picking her back foot up and down in a "tapping" motion... kinda like timing the pitch. So im watching her and the DC is watching her from his bucket... So my question is: is this leaving early?
I didn't call anything on her as she made no motion to advance (and i wasn't sure if this was actually anything... I admit it ![]()
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana. |
|
|||
Given your tournament situation and directive by the UIC, I'm not saying that it should have been called, but..................IN NSA, clearly an out.
NSA Rule 8, Section 8 - The baserunner is out: u. When the baserunner(s) fails to keep contact with their base until a legally pitched ball leaves the pitcher's hand. The ball is dead, "NO PITCH" is declared and the baserunner(s) is declared out." Yes, the plural leads to some discussion (typically poorly worded NSA rules), but the situation is on point and clear - out. |
|
|||
I've seen NCAA umps watching like a hawk, when the runner is just shifting weight from foot to foot, for a break in contact with the bag.
I see what you're describing quite often, if anything I'll brush dirt off the bag & mention that she has to maintain contact- even then it's only if a DC has an issue with it. |
|
|||
Oh there it is... the wink/rollseyes/grin/eek. It's tiny, but I think I see it.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Quote:
As to the overall question, let me pose an alternative violation of the rule that I've been ignoring to make sure you all agree I should. The runner is at third. After the pitch she goes back to third where she stands just outside the diamond without touching the base while talking to her coach. She then slides her foot over to the bag. I've never figured it was in the spirit of the rule so I've never done anything. Everybody okay with that? ________ LIVE SEX Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:30pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Young:
I'm with Seth here. In case 1, ring it. Call that out. Is it any difference if it's R1 on 3B, or R3 on 1B? Nope. Ring it. In case 2, not so much with Seth. Give her the "one thousand one, one thousand two" and ring it. If she and her coach are dumb enough to miss that obvious part of the rule, they deserve to be taught a lesson with the out. Ring it.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
I can go with that, too. I don't know that I've seen runners doing this.
|
|
|||
I have stopped doing any coaching about rules, but sometimes bring something to a coach's attention (like very new players and some IP).
My reasons are that it is a disadvantage to the other team, it is intruding on the coach's job, and the player or coach might think I am also helping the other team more significantly. Where is applying rules based on advantage defined in the books? I only learned it in basketball and soccer.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() ________ Park Royal 1 Pattaya Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:30pm. |
|
|||
Okay, so you use "in the spirit of the rule" here huh? Why is applicable here but not in the OP? What is the spirit of the rule applicable to the OP? You're going to call a girl out because she's a millimeter off the base? Why would you even "see" this?
|
|
|||
Quote:
________ Cumalot4u Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:31pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|