The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
I personally believe that this should be ruled an intentionally dropped fly ball (IDFB, for short). I think it sets up a cheap double play through unfair deception. Others will disagree with me, and that's fine. Unfortunately, ASA falls into that category, but hey... I call what they want me to call.
If I understand the thinking correctly, There shouldn't be a cheap double play because the runner going to first should have time to get there. On a line drive the play may be different but things are happening fast and the runner is likely to break back towards first.
________
Wong Amat Tower Condominium

Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 01:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
If I understand the thinking correctly, There shouldn't be a cheap double play because the runner going to first should have time to get there. On a line drive the play may be different but things are happening fast and the runner is likely to break back towards first.
In the two instances where I've invoked this rule, both infielders had an easy shot at making the double play. And I mean easy.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
In the two instances where I've invoked this rule, both infielders had an easy shot at making the double play. And I mean easy.
In either play, was one of your outs the BR?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I know of no code, baseball or softball, that prohibits a fielder from letting a ball drop untouched to the ground.

There are two protections against "deception": (1) the infield fly rule, and (2) the fact that the BR should run on a batted ball.

Codes do differ, however, in whether a fielder is allowed to "guide the ball" to the ground. For example, in ASA, this is legal. In OBR, it is not.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Every baseball and softball rule set I've been able to reseach has the requirement of actual contact between the ball and the fielder before an intentional drop can be ruled. That is, allowing the ball to drop untouched is perfectly legal.

Except, it appears, for NSA- if you read how their rule is worded. If that is the case, then they are the "odd man out" of the baseball and softball world. It wouldn't be the first time that one organization or the other went against the grain with one of their interpretations.

What I was trying to get is some "official" confirmation of that. I have sent an email to the NSA Umpire-in-Chief to see if he can confirm this.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 06:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I just looked at NSA's 7-11-e. The wording is horrendous—ambiguous in several different ways, with unclear references and a couple of gaps in logic. And all those listings of people on base are unnecessary; all that was needed was "with 1B occupied and less than 2 out."

Including "lets drop" with "drops" could reasonably indicate that letting the ball drop without touching it is illegal. But couldn't a "trapped ball," which is apparently not covered under this rule, first be intentionally allowed to drop?

With rules written this badly, no wonder there is confusion.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 06:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
In either play, was one of your outs the BR?
In both cases, yep. Dead ball, BR's out.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 07:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
In both cases, yep. Dead ball, BR's out.
I meant if you didn't make the ID call
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
I meant if you didn't make the ID call
Ummm... Am I missing something here? In ASA, the ball is either caught or not caught. If it's caught (meeting the necessary definitions of a catch), then intentionally dropped to the ground, I've got a dead ball with the BR out. If it's in the glove, but dropped before control was ever gained (ie., it squirts out of the glove), then I've got nothing.

What part of the question am I missing?
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 01, 2008, 11:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp View Post
Ummm... Am I missing something here? In ASA, the ball is either caught or not caught. If it's caught (meeting the necessary definitions of a catch), then intentionally dropped to the ground, I've got a dead ball with the BR out. If it's in the glove, but dropped before control was ever gained (ie., it squirts out of the glove), then I've got nothing.

What part of the question am I missing?
Yes, you are. Instead of answering the question, you are thinking

I wanted to know if one of the outs you would believe is undeserved due to the deception is the BR.

The reason I wanted to know has already been noted in another post. A BR who runs when they hit the ball will never be doubled up due to an intentionally dropped ball. If the BR doesn't run? Shame on them, no protection is deserved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intentionally dropped ball, or not? Yuri10 Baseball 7 Fri Mar 28, 2008 02:51pm
OBR Intentionally Dropped Flyball Pete in AZ Baseball 12 Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:01pm
Intentionally Dropped Ball tobaccoroad14 Softball 6 Fri Jun 17, 2005 02:35pm
Intentionally Dropped Ball tzme415 Softball 13 Sat May 21, 2005 08:27am
Infield fly vs. an intentionally dropped ball tkrochta Softball 19 Tue May 25, 2004 08:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1