The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Interference (NFHS)

Do you have to have contact for INT in HS ball? Can't remember.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 07:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
Do you have to have contact for INT in HS ball? Can't remember.
No, but it helps!
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 08:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
No, but it helps!
That's for sure! Had a grounder between SS and 2nd base bag. Runner from 2B to 3B caused SS to stand up and stop, everything but contact, and ball went to outfield. I called INT. OC argued that had to have contact and quite honestly he got me questioning myself.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 08, 2008, 10:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
That's for sure! Had a grounder between SS and 2nd base bag. Runner from 2B to 3B caused SS to stand up and stop,
How did the runner cause the SS to stand up and stop?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 07:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
How did the runner cause the SS to stand up and stop?
ummm.... by interfering.
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 07:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue
ummm.... by interfering.
Not necessarily, but that is why I am asking
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 642
"Runner from 2B to 3B caused SS to stand up and stop"

Umpires judgement? if so, end of story
__________________
Will Rogers must not have ever officiated in Louisiana.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 08:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by CajunNewBlue
"Runner from 2B to 3B caused SS to stand up and stop"

Umpires judgement? if so, end of story
End of story if the coach asks, but, it's just us here...
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Not necessarily, but that is why I am asking
Had the exact same stitch in the Nats this year. I did not call INT.
As noted so many times, a runner cannot go pooof. She was already
in advance mode, SS saw her out of the corner of her eye and stopped
her advance toward the ball causing the two to bump. The ball was to
the 2nd base side of SS. Ball ended up going into short LC field. I signaled
OBS. Runner from 2nd went back to 2nd. I did not advance the
runner, cause in my opinion, she would not have made it. Had the SS
continued toward the ball I would have had INT.
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
How did the runner cause the SS to stand up and stop?
The SS stopped to avoid the inevitable contact with the runner. If she hadn't stopped they would have collided. Although the runner didn't "go out of her way", she definitely interfered with SS ability to make play.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 09:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiskers_ump
As noted so many times, a runner cannot go pooof.
But we require the fielder who drops the ball on a tag to go "poooof" or they OBS???????? what's fair is fair.....why didn't you have INT.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 09:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
But we require the fielder who drops the ball on a tag to go "poooof" or they OBS???????? what's fair is fair.....why didn't you have INT.
Sorry, doesn't work that way. The fielder isn't supposed to be in the runner's path without possession of the ball to begin. If they catch the ball, step into the path and then drop the ball, you think not protecting the runner who is obstructed due to a defensive error is fair?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
The SS stopped to avoid the inevitable contact with the runner. If she hadn't stopped they would have collided. Although the runner didn't "go out of her way", she definitely interfered with SS ability to make play.
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dholloway1962
But we require the fielder who drops the ball on a tag to go "poooof" or they OBS???????? what's fair is fair.....why didn't you have INT.
I think we have a HTBT on a lot of these plays, Whiskers saw it one way we might have saw it another. It is based on location of the ball, fielder, runner and the actions of all of them and they form a picture that we develop in a fraction of a second to make a judgement call, either OBS, INT or nothing. Hard to judge all these based on wording.

In whiskers case if the ball was near 2nd base and SS was playing toward 3rd there isn't as strong of a case for INT, but if ss is center, or shading to 2nd in that case you have a stronger possibility of INT, again location pre and post hit and ball location actions of everyone involved all go together, so nobody is right and nobody is wrong based on typed descriptions...have to see it to believe it is true in this case.

To your OP, I can see if everything was right, where you could no doubt have INT on your play! Coach was wrong all it takes is umpire judgement that the runner interfered with the fielders chance to field a batted ball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 09, 2008, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Sorry, doesn't work that way. The fielder isn't supposed to be in the runner's path without possession of the ball to begin. If they catch the ball, step into the path and then drop the ball, you think not protecting the runner who is obstructed due to a defensive error is fair?
this is more of a rant than anything.....Why doesn't it work that way? Why is the requirement that the fielder "goes poof" if they drop they ball but the ball is still next to them or we have OBS? But the runner can do pretty much anything they want and not have to disappear? (rant over)

I would disagree in part with your 2nd sentence...if the fielder is attempting to execute a play (ie fielding a batted ball) the fielder can be there without the ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Umpire Interference (NFHS Rules)?? Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 17 Thu Jul 17, 2008 12:50pm
NFHS interference bkbjones Softball 7 Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:51pm
NFHS: Verbal Interference w_sohl Baseball 14 Thu Nov 08, 2007 12:05pm
NFHS Interference - Visual whiskers_ump Softball 23 Thu Feb 24, 2005 05:48pm
NFHS - Pass interference mikesears Football 7 Fri Sep 22, 2000 12:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1