![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
However, if the runner's progress was not impeded prior to the catcher having the ball, the catcher now having the ball has the right to impeded that progress.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
The key aspect to this play sounds like whether or not the runner's progress was impeded. If the runner never broke stride or adjusted their path while F2 did not have possession of the ball, then you do not have OBS.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Joe In Missouri |
|
|||
I thought you would all enjoy the following e-mail, sent from a manager to the director of a slow pitch league I assign. The director forwarded the message to me this morning:
Could you send out an e-mail and mention to the umps that the catcher is not allowed to block the plate? Last Wednesday, we had a player called out for failing to slide at home. The Ravens' catcher came out from behind the plate and stood in the baseline without the ball standing waiting for a throw. The catcher has to stand behind the plate at all times unless he is moving to field a throw. The catcher is not allowed to block the plate like in baseball. The catcher caused a collision because he stood in the baseline without the ball waiting for a throw. The catcher should have been called for interference before the slide or avoid rule came into play. With the slide or avoid rule the runner does not have to slide if the runner avoids a collision with the catcher who is standing behind the plate. If the collision occurs and the catcher is in the baseline, it is interference and the runner is safe. Should I hire this guy to run a clinic?
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Oddly (or maybe not), I had a discussion with a coach regarding a game this weekend who made a very similar argument.
ASA really, really does need to disabuse people of the notion that THEY put in their heads when the "about to receive" was first removed from the rule. The wrong statement about blocking the base is STILL in the RS on obstruction. At least with about to receive, we didn't have to listen to this kind of nonsense.
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
The following play is technically OBS in ASA, but I can't bring myself to call it. I've seen it many times, and earlier this year I had the clearest example:
Ground ball to F5, whose throw to 1B is obviously going to beat the runner easily. F3 has to reach to her left to glove the ball, and in doing so moves into BR's path. An instant before the ball arrives, BR alters her stride in reaction and is out by two steps. A higher-up at ASA told me that the OBS rule was not intended to generate an OBS call on that play, but I still have players and coaches, in both SP and FP, claim that F3 "blocked the base without the ball." (NCAA's rule is different, so this is not an issue in college.)
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
I realize that the above statement is not how OBS is taught, and I encourage you not to extend this interpretation too far beyond the sitch just presented by greymule.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
I had two similar plays this weekend, both instances with a catcher straddling the plate.. one was obs and I called it, the runner was clearly impeded. The other, the runner was not impeded, and I didnt call it. THe coach wanted it, but I did not give it to him, his runner was not impeded in any way.
So watch the play in relation to the catcher.. dont focus on the position of the catcher.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Last year as BU I had the following play in the Babe Ruth 12u NJ state final:
R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, no outs. B3 hits a pop fly to short center (not remotely IFR). R1 runs halfway to 3B, but the 3B coach, seeing that the ball is catchable about 20 feet behind 2B, warns her to retreat. F6 runs to 2B to cover the possible force on R2 as well as the possible appeal play on R1. The ball drops in front of F8, who fields it on one hop. R1, now back on 2B, sees that the ball has dropped and begins to run toward 3B. As F8 releases her throw to 3B, R1 gets tangled with F6 and falls down. A moment later, F5 gloves the ball at 3B for the force. (R2 reaches 2B, B3 reaches 1B.) There was no doubt that R1 was obstructed in her attempt to advance to 3B, and the 3B coach (whose team plays under ASA rules 99% of the time) naturally wanted OBS. However, at the time the OBS occurred, R1 was 60 feet from 3B, with the ball one second from F5. I explained to the coach that Babe Ruth rules regarding OBS are taken verbatim from the OBR book, and that OBS that has no bearing on the play is ignored. His answer: "OK. That's the way it should be."
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
BR Obstruction | BigUmp56 | Baseball | 10 | Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:24am |
obstruction | yankeesfan | Baseball | 7 | Fri Jun 16, 2006 06:58am |
Obstruction at First | Cubbies87 | Baseball | 9 | Sun Sep 28, 2003 07:53pm |
Obstruction? | Panda Bear | Softball | 32 | Mon Jul 21, 2003 10:21am |
Obstruction? | Gre144 | Baseball | 8 | Sun Mar 02, 2003 09:12pm |