![]() |
|
|
|||
On-Deck Batter interferes with ball four
Here's one that happened tonight:
Runner on third base. Batter up with a 3-0 count. Pitch comes in low for ball four. It bounces off the catcher's shin guard and rolls toward the on-deck batter. The runner at third is not especially fast and cautiously goes about one-third of the way down the line as the catcher chases the ball near the on-deck circle. Just as the catcher goes to pick the ball up, the on-deck batter decides to be "helpful" and kicks the ball towards the catcher! I called time sent the runner back to third and made the batter-runner go no further than first on the walk. If either the runner at third or the batter-runner had been trying to advance on the play, I would have called the on-deck batter out for interference--which would have been a first for me. Would anyone have called interference regardless? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
I umpire in Canada. Unless I'm mistaken, the rule of thumb here is to always call out the person who is responsible for creating the interference unless he/she has already scored or been put out. Generally this can't be done if the on-deck hitter is the culprit. This might be splitting hairs, but in this case, because of ball four, could the on-deck batter now be considered the new batter, and thus be called out? Otherwise, I agree that the runner on third would be called out for being the runner closest to the plate.
You see something new every year... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
On the other hand, if you think there was no play, you cannot have interference; you have a blocked ball (since a live ball was handled and redirected by the offense). Dead ball, and runners return is a valid call, in that situation.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Quote:
Agree.
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
A blocked ball, in this situation, would only pertain to offensive equipment not in the game wouldn't it? Not the on-deck batter. I don't have a rule book with me so someone clarify if they can please. Last edited by Dholloway1962; Fri Jul 18, 2008 at 09:52am. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Ball blocked by offensive equipment
Coach here.
I had a game recently where we are on offense and an errant throw from F4 to F3 hit one of our coaches buckets. Blue* called dead ball runner closest to home is out. I asked why he arbitrarily called the runner out, didn't he have some discretion as to determine if a play was being made on the runner. He said, no, that by rule, runner closest to home is out. He was the UIC so I dropped it. I think he misapplied the rule. Rule 8, Sec 5 G When the ball is live and is overthrown or is blocked: 3. If the ball becomes blocked due to offensive equipment not involved in the game. Effect: The ball is dead and runners are returned to the last base touched at the time of the blocked ball. If the blocked ball prevented the defense from making an out, the runner being played on is out. *Blue. a colloquial term of endearment meant to convey respect to the men and women who keep the playing fields from descending into chaos. (I kinda lifted this from wilkopedia referring to officers.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
On deck batter interferes? | BktBallRef | Baseball | 6 | Tue Apr 25, 2006 08:05pm |
Batter interferes with catcher | just another ref | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jun 28, 2004 08:07am |
Batter interferes with catcher | just another ref | Baseball | 15 | Wed May 19, 2004 01:16pm |
On Deck Batter | Duke | Softball | 4 | Fri Apr 30, 2004 02:03pm |