The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 17, 2008, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,361
Yes and no. It's left up to the umpire's judgment to determine where the runner WOULD have safely reached had there been no obstruction. The runner does not need to make an attempt to advance towards a particular base in order to be awarded that base. However, the umpire is correct in saying that IF the umpire felt they would have gotten 2nd base, and IF the runner tried for 2nd base, but got tagged out, the runner would simply be placed on 2nd base.
__________________
Dave

I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views!

Screw green, it ain't easy being blue!

I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
obstruction question scroobs Softball 21 Fri Apr 11, 2008 03:31pm
Obstruction question David Emerling Softball 33 Tue Jan 08, 2008 03:24am
Obstruction Question BigUmp56 Baseball 8 Sun Apr 16, 2006 04:20pm
Yet Another Obstruction Question Striker991 Baseball 2 Mon May 05, 2003 02:47pm
Obstruction question David Emerling Baseball 21 Fri Dec 07, 2001 05:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1